Great Yarmouth CC’s Good Friday time trial proves to be a big attraction

PUBLISHED: 01:12 21 April 2017

Great Yarmouth CC's Jan Smith and Jenny Anderson who performed well in Good Friday's time trial. Picture: Jan Smith

Great Yarmouth CC's Jan Smith and Jenny Anderson who performed well in Good Friday's time trial. Picture: Jan Smith


Great Yarmouth Cycling Club’s annual Good Friday 10 mile time trial had a good turnout, with 129 riders meeting at the headquarters in Wortwell for an 8am start.

Conditions were dry but on the cold side. Riders were thankful for a tailwind on the way out, although the turn meant they were faced with a tough return.

In the women’s event last year’s second place rider Verity Smith (Stowmarket & District CC) won in a time of 24:16, with Cindy Berry (Bowl Phish Racing) and Sophie Lankford (Cambridge Tri Club) taking second and third respectively with times of 24:46 and 25:11.

Four home riders took part, Jenny Anderson rode the course in 26:47, Jan Smith in 28:53 and Kerstin Langer in 28:58. All three improved their times from last year by over a minute. Catherine Lee made her debut, finishing in 29:57.

The juniors’ event saw ex GYCC rider Ollie Woods take third place, finishing in a time of 23:28. First place was taken by Lyster Romero of Wigmore CC with a time of 21:18 and second place by Lucas He (VC Baracchi) who recorded a time of 23:22.

The men’s event attracted 106 riders, 11 of whom were representing GYCC. Jonny Hawes was the fastest of Yarmouth’s riders (23:40) and Julian Claxton completed close behind in 23:51. Tom Moore showed excellent early season form, getting close to his personal best with a time 24:43.

Steve Brown, riding fixed gear, completed in 26:29 and Johnathan Lincoln finished in 27:13. GYCC’s only novices Myles Duffield and Simon Tait completed in 26:54 and 28:06 respectively.

The self-named Pensioners’ Peloton made up of Ron Bean, Paul Hastings, Allan Schoenherr and Grenville Moore showed that age is no barrier by attaining excellent times of 31:52, 34:18, 31:07 and 32:57 respectively.

The event was won by Team Velo Velocity’s Matthew Senter in a time of 20:26 and second place was taken by DAP CC rider Harley Matthews in 20:36. Third place was taken by Lowestoft’s VC Baracchi rider Mark Richards with a time of 21:09.

Luke Hurst (VC Norwich) won the Fastest Novice prize with a time of 25:08.

Paul Jay (Team Velo Velocity) took home the Fastest Veteran with a time of 21.41, also giving him fourth place overall. The club were grateful to Lynn Evans for organising a fantastic event.

Other Great Yarmouth sport

Yesterday, 16:16

Former Norwich City footballer Darren Eadie opens up about his own battles with mental health and tells men who may be struggling - talk about it.

Fri, 09:43

Great Yarmouth Town slipped five points adrift at the foot of the table after suffering another home defeat.

Mon, 12:37

National road cycling championships will next year be hosted in Norfolk, it has been announced.

Most Read

Wed, 12:29

Police are appealing for help to trace a woman following a theft in Great Yarmouth.

Read more
Tue, 13:10

The man who was killed in a fatal stabbing in Great Yarmouth has been named.

Read more
Norwich Magistrates Court
Thu, 14:16

A young girl left severely disabled after mistakes were made during her birth at a Norfolk hospital will receive an extra £600,000 in damages.

Read more
Wed, 12:20

Residents in Great Yarmouth will be able to enjoy having their favourite fast food orders delivered right to their doorstep thanks to a new delivery service.

Read more
Wed, 14:51

Homes are going up on a pub’s garden as it looks for ways to thrive.

Read more

Local Weather



max temp: 11°C

min temp: 6°C

Digital Edition


Enjoy the Great
Yarmouth Mercury

e-edition today


Show Job Lists

Newsletter Sign Up

Great Yarmouth Mercury weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy