Search

Europe

The manager of one of Norfolk’s most important conservation sites has been rewarded for his work with a national award.

Tuesday, October 9, 2018

Youngsters from Great Yarmouth have been shortlisted for an award after learning new skills working on heritage projects around the world.

Monday, October 8, 2018

Today, the EDP launches a campaign to honour all those who fought and fell in the First World War.

Monday, September 17, 2018

Police are targeting people who use their mobile phones behind the wheel in a week-long enforcement campaign.

Friday, September 14, 2018

Joe Mackintosh of SeaChange Arts shares his East Anglian heaven and hell

Monday, September 10, 2018

Residents and visitors to Great Yarmouth and Gorleston who fancy a wee dram, a pint, half or even a lemonade shandy are finding it more and more challenging to locate a “local” in which to slake their thirst.

Saturday, September 8, 2018

The well known Norfolk Broads boating pioneer and business owner Langford Jillings Snr has died at the age of 79.

Tuesday, September 4, 2018

Anglian Water has revealed how it wants to spend £6.5bn to protect the region’s water supplies in the coming years. Business editor Mark Shields takes a look at five things we learned from the plan.

Thursday, August 30, 2018

Children in England are to be banned from buying energy drinks under government plans.

Friday, August 17, 2018

Great Yarmouth’s Hippodrome Circus Summer Spectacular is an absolute delight, whatever the weather. Roll up, roll up for a show that you’ll remember forever.

Friday, August 10, 2018

Norfolk has officially recycled one million tonnes of waste, it has been announced by the Norfolk Waste Partnership.

Monday, August 6, 2018

A week-long crackdown on speeding drivers in Norfolk starts today as part of a Europe-wide campaign.

Saturday, August 4, 2018

The hunt is on for a young person who will represent a coastal area of outstanding beauty scheme at a national conference and help improve youth participation in the nature project.

Wednesday, July 18, 2018

Cancer kills more people in Norfolk than any other condition.

Wednesday, July 4, 2018

Offshore wind opportunities in the East of England were showcased at Europe’s largest wind energy conference.

Tuesday, July 3, 2018

After eight weeks a Norfolk zoo can finally declare with confidence - it’s a girl!

Wednesday, June 6, 2018

People mingled in the solemn summer sunshine of a busy Great Yarmouth Park to mark the 74th anniversary of D-Day.

Saturday, June 2, 2018

Norfolk and Suffolk Foundation Trust (NSFT) has appointed two new directors.

Thursday, May 31, 2018

The bravery and flying skills of First World War pilots will be re-lived over Great Yarmouth seashore in one of the highlights of the upcoming new air show.

Thursday, May 31, 2018

It was a brief holiday romance on an idyllic Mediterranean island that was a welcome distraction for a recently widowed Norfolk woman.

Sunday, May 20, 2018

Grass is growing on our famous beach

Sunday, May 13, 2018

Push to bring back port’s ferry service

Thursday, April 26, 2018

A driver was clocked travelling at more than speed limit in Lowestoft during a police crackdown on traffic offences.

Monday, April 23, 2018

Sporting youngsters have been recognised for their achievements in netball, football, basketball, cheerleading, athletics and rounders at their Gorleston school.

Sunday, April 22, 2018

Radio hams have reached out to 20 countries from a special event at Caister Lifeboat to mark the anniversary of Marconi’s birthday.

Sunday, April 22, 2018

A season of guided walks, focusing on the rich cultural heritage of the Great Yarmouth borough, is getting underway this month.

Thursday, April 19, 2018

Norfolk experiences its hottest day of the year today - and the warmest since the beginning of July 2017.

Thursday, April 12, 2018

There are many plants and trees that will grow near salt water, some are very environmentally friendly taking carbon out of the atmosphere.

Saturday, April 7, 2018

The Norfolk Coast has been a nationally protected area for 50 years, and today sees the launch of a series of exciting events to mark the occasion.

Local Weather

Partly Cloudy

Partly Cloudy

max temp: 22°C

min temp: 11°C

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

cover

Enjoy the Great
Yarmouth Mercury

e-edition today

Subscribe

Newsletter Sign Up

Great Yarmouth Mercury weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy