Monday, March 5, 2018

Commuters on the railways are facing delays and cancellations as snow is still causing trouble for operator Greater Anglia.

Friday, March 2, 2018

Here is the latest on First Bus services in Norwich, Great Yarmouth and Lowestoft.

Tuesday, February 27, 2018

The Beast from the East has blown into Great Yarmouth - much to the delight of hundreds of school children.

Monday, February 26, 2018

The first flakes of snow have started falling in Norfolk amid forecasts of sub-zero temperatures across the region this week.

Sunday, February 25, 2018

Forecasted heavy snow fall and sub-zero temperatures has forced Greater Anglia to put in place a contingency plan which could see trains cancelled across Norfolk and Suffolk.

Friday, February 23, 2018

Work is to start in the summer on creating a 39-bedroom nursing home in Great Yarmouth by demolishing a former hotel building.

Saturday, February 17, 2018

The closure of train services between Norwich, Lowestoft and Great Yarmouth continues this weekend for signalling improvements.

Tuesday, February 6, 2018

Trains between Norwich, Great Yarmouth and Lowestoft are cancelled this morning because of repair problems.

Saturday, February 3, 2018

East Anglia’s best-known steam locomotive Oliver Cromwell is to pay a final trip to the region later this month before it is retired after 10 years on the main line.

Friday, February 2, 2018

No trains will run on two major routes from Norwich for nine days this month, with replacement bus services instead taking on the mantle.

Tuesday, January 30, 2018

Top NHS executives met behind closed doors to probe “shocking” delays at the region’s ambulance service which may have led to a man freezing to death.

Tuesday, January 30, 2018

Police are on the hunt for a 46-year-old Great Yarmouth wanted man with connections to Norwich and Lowestoft.

Wednesday, January 24, 2018

A number of services in and out of Norwich Railway Station have been cancelled due to a train fault.

Sunday, January 21, 2018

Motorists were diverted after a Norfolk road was temporarily closed following a two-car crash.

Friday, January 19, 2018

Emergency services in Great Yarmouth have teamed up to provide even quicker response times for ambulance crews.

Monday, January 8, 2018

Rail conductor/guards employed by Greater Anglia are to walk out on strike again for three days – but the company insists passengers in Norfolk should not face any disruption.

Friday, January 5, 2018

A person has died after being hit by a train in Norwich this morning.

Friday, January 5, 2018

A person has been hit by a train in Norfolk this morning.

Saturday, December 23, 2017

Community spirit is alive and kicking with over 30 organisations and charities across Norfolk spreading some Christmas cheer this year.

Thursday, November 23, 2017

A £98m pledge from the chancellor in his Budget means work could start in 2020 on a new bridge which will open up investment for the whole region.

Wednesday, November 22, 2017

Chronic skills shortages in construction and STEM subjects were addressed in the Budget with promises of funding to help training providers improve current practises and adjust to new ones.

Friday, November 17, 2017

The former BHS store building in Great Yarmouth is to be auctioned off, with a guide price of up to £700,000.

Monday, November 13, 2017

A Norfolk law firm has pledged its support for a campaign to help nine UK charities.

Monday, October 30, 2017

Neighbours of a leisure centre have complained about noise and parking issues near the site.

Monday, October 23, 2017

Trains will not run between Norwich and Great Yarmouth this week because of a major line upgrade.

Friday, October 20, 2017

Network Rail is carrying out nine days of intensive engineering works to upgrade signals on the Norwich to Lowestoft and Norwich to Great Yarmouth routes, starting this weekend.

Friday, October 20, 2017

Sunday saw the Holmes Cup reliability ride taking in Blundeston, Haddiscoe, Loddon, Ditchingham, Bungay, Rumburgh, Redisham, Brampton, Mumford, Lowestoft and Oulton.

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Rail passengers are set to experience widespread disruption as work on a major modernisation plan gets under way.

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Bus drivers from across the region have donned retro punk outfits to reinvent a classic nursery rhyme for a new music video.

Friday, October 6, 2017

An East Anglian department store chain which announced the closure of one of its premises this week is still performing well despite a “challenging” trading environment, according to its chairman.

Local Weather



max temp: 1°C

min temp: 0°C

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition


Enjoy the Great
Yarmouth Mercury

e-edition today


Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter