Search

Nottingham

Wednesday, May 2, 2018

A principal who helped improve a school’s Ofsted rating from ‘inadequate’ to ‘good’ in the space of three years is moving on to a new challenge.

Thursday, April 5, 2018

A much-loved rescue pony has died almost 20 years after being adopted by a Great Yarmouth horse sanctuary.

Monday, March 12, 2018

“There will be nobody like him ever again. He will never be equalled. When he came onto a stage he lit it up.”

Monday, March 12, 2018

Sir Ken Dodd who tickled thousands of comedy fans for decades, including many in East Anglia, has died.

Tuesday, March 6, 2018

Plans to close the A47 between Postwick and Trowse tonight for roadworks have now been postponed until after 10pm to allow traffic from tonight’s Norwich City football match to disperse.

Thursday, January 18, 2018

That Scottish burr, perfect enunciation and expert timing were the trademarks of James Alexander Gordon, the BBC radio announcer whose voice on Saturday teatimes was familiar to listeners for decades as they listened to him reading out the classified football results.

Tuesday, January 2, 2018

A Great Yarmouth mum has spoken of her terror after a rock was thrown at her family’s car while driving near Dereham.

Sunday, December 24, 2017

It’s not often that something makes me cry with laughter.

Friday, October 27, 2017

Acle United Ladies lost their chance to make ground on the top two after being held to a 1-1 draw by Royston Town on Sunday.

Tuesday, October 24, 2017

Acle United Ladies lost their chance to make ground on the top two in the Eastern Region Women’s Premier Division after being held to a 1-1 draw by Royston Town.

Thursday, September 21, 2017

Bath’s loss is Great Yarmouth’s gain on Thursday afternoon when another eight-race card brings down the curtain on the three-day Eastern Festival.

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

A dozen fillies go to post this afternoon in Great Yarmouth’s most valuable and prestigious event of the entire racing season.

Sunday, August 13, 2017

He was the King of the Marina – a man who stood head and shoulders above the biggest household names in the land... how we loved Neville Bishop.

Thursday, July 6, 2017

Services between Norwich and Sheringham, Lowestoft and Great Yarmouth could be disrupted for the rest of the day.

Tuesday, June 27, 2017

As colour TV turns 50 new figures reveal more than 8,000 households across the UK still watch programmes in black and white - and eight of them are in Great Yarmouth.

Monday, June 26, 2017

Concerts in which setlists include both Nessun Dorma and Bohemian Rhapsody are few and far between.

Local Weather

Partly Cloudy

Partly Cloudy

max temp: 15°C

min temp: 10°C

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

cover

Enjoy the Great
Yarmouth Mercury

e-edition today

Subscribe

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter