Search

Southtown

Mon, 09:40

The A47 in Great Yarmouth was blocked after a car had to stop suddenly because of mechanical problems.

Friday, January 12, 2018

Roundabout and lights are no-go

Friday, January 5, 2018

Fifty years of fancy dress and tricks are coming to an end as a landmark shop prepares for its final turn - a disappearing act.

Saturday, December 30, 2017

Expenses rise is not deserved at all

Saturday, December 23, 2017

Dozens of children from 10 different schools came together to show off their talents at an education group’s annual Christmas show.

Thursday, December 14, 2017

The poor are only just managing

Wednesday, December 13, 2017

County councillors have voted to increase their allowances at a time when services across Norfolk are facing cuts.

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

The decision by Conservative and independent councillors to award themselves an allowance increase has been branded as “unbelievable” by one of the county’s MPs.

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

Dozens of children from 10 different schools came together to show off their talents at an education group’s annual Christmas show.

Friday, December 1, 2017

What a shame these beautiful trees have been chopped down and shredded on this building site in Southtown, Great Yarmouth.

Sunday, November 26, 2017

It could be my imagination, with no basis in fact, but if someone is asked to pick a number, the chances are that it will be an odd one, not even. Limit the choice to a single figure, and my bet is that seven will prove a favourite.

Thursday, November 23, 2017

A £98m pledge from the chancellor in his Budget means work could start in 2020 on a new bridge which will open up investment for the whole region.

Wednesday, November 22, 2017

The chancellor Philip Hammond has committed £98m towards the cost of a new bridge in Great Yarmouth.

Wednesday, November 22, 2017

Chancellor Philip Hammond could use the Budget to announce plans to boost the region’s infrastructure as part of a promise to “invest to secure a bright future for Britain.”

Monday, November 20, 2017

Great Yarmouth will this week find out whether its long-awaited third river crossing has been deemed worthy of Westminster backing in the Autumn Budget.

Friday, November 17, 2017

I sadly step down from my group

Thursday, November 16, 2017

A long standing Labour supporter and county councillor has resigned from his party group and become an independent.

Thursday, October 26, 2017

A close knit community is celebrating after controversial plans to build nine homes on a pocket of land in Great Yarmouth were refused.

Monday, October 16, 2017

A Labour councillor refused to back his own party’s motion over controversial proposals to close a Great Yarmouth school.

Friday, October 6, 2017

Time to end the school protest

Tuesday, October 3, 2017

Shoppers, children and diners at McDonald’s will be among the people who will get the chance to meet a bishop on his tour of Great Yarmouth.

Saturday, September 30, 2017

A man was arrested in the early hours of Saturday morning following a police chase in Great Yarmouth.

Friday, September 29, 2017

Parents have reacted angrily after a meeting about plans to merge their children’s high school with another one.

Monday, September 18, 2017

The emergency services were called to a crash involving a van and two other vehicles on a busy road.

Thursday, September 14, 2017

Action has been demanded to make roads in the Cobholm area of Great Yarmouth safer after a girl was injured in an accident.

Tuesday, September 12, 2017

A “cold-eyed and unsentimental” approach has to be taken over proposals to close a Great Yarmouth school, according to Norfolk’s children’s services director.

Friday, September 8, 2017

People living near the proposed site of a new river crossing face more uncertainty over the future of where they live.

Friday, September 8, 2017

Concerned neighbours have rallied together to oppose plans for a block of flats on their terraced street.

Friday, September 8, 2017

A £3.5m scheme to improve journeys in and out of Great Yarmouth is set to begin in just over a week.

Monday, September 4, 2017

Today is the first day members of public can have their say on the latest plans for a new bridge scheme.

Local Weather

Sunny

Sunny

max temp: 4°C

min temp: 0°C

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

cover

Enjoy the Great
Yarmouth Mercury

e-edition today

Subscribe

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter