Search

United States

Sunday, November 19, 2017

Norfolk’s British number one Alfie Hewett showed he is in impressive form heading towards the season climax at the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Masters later this month when winning the Bath Indoor men’s singles title.

Friday, November 17, 2017

A hospital payroll clerk has finished in the top 35 players at the World Scrabble Championships held in Kenya.

Monday, November 13, 2017

When Robert Fleming watched one of the world’s most powerful weapons detonate 60 years ago, little did he know of the lasting impact it would have on future generations.

Wednesday, November 8, 2017

Later this month the shopping extravaganza Black Friday will be back for another year. Here’s everything you need to know ahead of one of the key dates in the UK’s shopping calender.

Monday, November 6, 2017

Richard Weaver, President of the National Society of the Washington Family Descendants, has travelled from Washington DC in America to present a plaque to St Catherine’s Church in Ludham.

Friday, October 20, 2017

From Abraham Lincoln’s ancestral home to Thomas Paine, East Anglia has a strong connection with the United States of America.

Friday, October 6, 2017

Time to end the school protest

Friday, October 6, 2017

Time to embrace town’s heritage

Friday, October 6, 2017

Time to embrace town’s heritage

Thursday, September 28, 2017

More flesh has been put on the bones of the plan to overhaul the region’s healthcare services.

Saturday, September 16, 2017

It’s well established that bird migration is one of the great marvels of the natural world - but studies in a Suffolk seaside town are showing that it’s even more miraculous than might be thought.

Sunday, September 10, 2017

Norfolk’s Alfie Hewett rounded off the grand slam calendar with a brace of final appearances at the US Open in New York.

Friday, September 8, 2017

Mrs Peggotty and I went to the Theatre Royal recently – the one in Norwich, of course, because Great Yarmouth’s Theatre Royal was demolished in 1929 to make way for the construction of the much-lamented and long-demolished Regal Cinema.

Friday, September 8, 2017

Norfolk’s Alfie Hewett and his Scottish playing partner Gordon Reid made a unique piece of sporting history when they won the first ever wheelchair tennis match to played on Arthur Ashe Court, earning them a place in Saturday’s men’s doubles final at the US Open.

Thursday, August 31, 2017

An ancient Chinese practice associated with the treatment of back pain and headaches changed the life of a former marine from Gorleston.

Friday, August 25, 2017

So often one thing leads to another, the latest example being my feature a fortnight ago about the Duchess of Bedford, an ardent pilot who died when her aircraft inexplicably flew over the North Sea and crashed in 1937.

Wednesday, August 23, 2017

Offshore services group Gardline has been snapped up by a Dutch company in a multi-million pound deal, ending nearly 50 years as a family business.

Sunday, August 20, 2017

A woman who first ventured into the world of pageantry earlier this year has reached her second national final.

Saturday, August 19, 2017

This year marked the 200th anniversary of the invention of the rollercoaster, with the first opening in 1817.

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Offshore services group Gardline has been snapped up by a Dutch company in a multi-million pound deal, ending nearly 50 years as a family business.

Wednesday, August 2, 2017

East Anglian companies have won £9m of contracts to service wind farms off the Suffolk and German coasts.

Tuesday, August 1, 2017

Five rides have been closed at UK theme parks – including Pleasurewood Hills in Suffolk – after a fatal accident in the US.

Friday, July 14, 2017

There is plenty going on in and around Great Yarmouth this week.

Monday, July 3, 2017

After a remarkable year in his blossoming career Alfie Hewett admits his success still hasn’t quite sunk in.

Friday, June 30, 2017

You can almost hear the Honesty in Advertising bureaucrat’s censorious “Tut-tut” as he gleefully anticipates challenging a holiday area’s claim to be “The Resorts that Have Everything!”

Tuesday, June 27, 2017

The school summer break is nearly upon us and with it comes the constant challenge of how to keep the kids entertained. With a view to being prepared, we have put together a selection of activities and clubs taking place across East Anglia this summer.

Friday, June 23, 2017

MP needs to be in constituency

Wednesday, June 21, 2017

The number of nurses coming to work in our region from the European Union has fallen, hospital leaders have said.

Wednesday, June 7, 2017

It is a grandstand that has offered Bloaters fans a perfect view to watch their football team win, lose and draw thousands of games.

Sunday, June 4, 2017

Community leaders across Norfolk have reacted to the shock news of the terrorist attack in London.

Local Weather

Partly Cloudy

Partly Cloudy

max temp: 14°C

min temp: 12°C

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

cover

Enjoy the Great
Yarmouth Mercury

e-edition today

Subscribe

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter