Wednesday, March 7, 2018

Norfolk and Waveney has just recovered from the deluge of snow brought by the Beast from the East and now the region is set to be hit by the Pest from the West.

Friday, February 23, 2018

A jar of air sampling the seaside scent of Caister beach has been snapped up for £10.

Thursday, February 8, 2018

Firearms offences in Norfolk have soared by more than 50pc in the past 10 years, new figures have revealed.

Tuesday, January 23, 2018

A new pastor has taken up his post at the Seventh-day Adventist Church in Gorleston.

Monday, January 22, 2018

Tributes have been paid to a gifted psychiatrist who dedicated much of his life to the field of medicine.

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Around 49,000 homes across Norfolk and Suffolk are without power as the strong winds continue to sweep across the county.

Thursday, January 11, 2018

The heads of the three A&E departments in our region have written to the Prime Minister warning safety levels are “intolerable” amid “severe and chronic underfunding” of the NHS.

Tuesday, January 9, 2018

Young people in Great Yarmouth with challenging lives can take part in a new scheme that offers what is described as a potentially life changing education break.

Tuesday, January 9, 2018

Local bowls player Daniel Seabourne is about to hit the international stage again, with his first playing trip overseas.

Monday, January 8, 2018

Rail conductor/guards employed by Greater Anglia are to walk out on strike again for three days – but the company insists passengers in Norfolk should not face any disruption.

Sunday, January 7, 2018

Theresa May will abandon her Conservative general election manifesto pledge to give MPs a vote on whether to overturn the fox hunting ban.

Monday, January 1, 2018

Norfolk and Suffolk could be in for blustery weather on Wednesday, with Met Office forecasters issuing a warning over windy conditions.

Saturday, December 30, 2017

Ugh! The squeamish will feel sick just thinking about it.

Saturday, December 30, 2017

Hospitals in Norfolk made millions last year in car parking charges from patients, visitors, and staff, new data has revealed.

Friday, November 24, 2017

A trip to Birmingham for their last tournament of 2017 saw four members of the Phoenix Karate Schools squad added to their trophy tally.

Monday, November 6, 2017

A pioneering concept that provides high-level medical cover for oil and gas and windfarm workers has been deployed off the East Anglian coast for the first time.

Monday, November 6, 2017

Richard Weaver, President of the National Society of the Washington Family Descendants, has travelled from Washington DC in America to present a plaque to St Catherine’s Church in Ludham.

Monday, October 16, 2017

The remnants of Hurricane Ophelia have brought summer temperatures to the region.

Sunday, October 1, 2017

Although we are probably too embarrassed to admit it, most of us over-eat despite all those pledges to reduce the size of our platefuls and be sensible about our choice of food. Being careful most days lessens the guilty conscience when we pile up our plates with a traditional Sunday roast or relish the indulgence of crispy batter on a large shop-fried cod – with chips, of course.

Monday, September 25, 2017

Norfolk has been revealed as the top treasure hotspot across England and Wales.

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Oliver and Olivia have been revealed as the most popular baby names in the region for 2016 according to official figures.

Wednesday, September 6, 2017

Landowners have accused the government of using public money unnecessarily to replicate access to the coast that already existed.

Friday, August 18, 2017

Norfolk has been named one of the most attractive counties for retirees.

Friday, August 4, 2017

A leading public health charity has called for more investment in substance misuse prevention, after deaths related to drugs in the region soared.

Sunday, July 9, 2017

I must now look for another dentist

Tuesday, July 4, 2017

Dozens of children who care for sick and disabled family members are to receive a boost from a £10,000 grant.

Monday, July 3, 2017

A group of volunteers who want to restore a Norfolk lifeboat are holding a fundraising event on Sunday.

Wednesday, June 28, 2017

House price growth in East Anglia has outstripped the rest of the country, rising by 5pc in the past year.

Thursday, June 1, 2017

Treat the kids to hours of fun on flumes, inflatables and wave machines at these cool pools across the county...

Thursday, May 11, 2017

Alien mink have for years wreaked havoc on aquatic birdlife and water vole populations across Norfolk.

Local Weather



max temp: 0°C

min temp: -1°C

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition


Enjoy the Great
Yarmouth Mercury

e-edition today


Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter