Search

Yarmouth

Saturday, November 18, 2017

In our latest archive EDP essay, Jane Hales writes in 1966 about the changing role of the coastguard.

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

A man who made 10 trips to and from Normandy as part of the D-Day landings has been presented with France’s highest honour.

Wednesday, November 8, 2017

Michael Docwra, a scrap metal merchant and horse trader, was still sealing deals until the day he died aged 71 after a long illness.

Monday, November 6, 2017

A history enthusiast who took his own life in a coastal museum will be celebrated at a town memorial service.

Wednesday, November 1, 2017

Senior political figures are calling for defecting Ukip councillors to resign their seats to trigger by-elections.

Tuesday, October 31, 2017

Senior political figures are calling for defecting Ukip councillors to resign their seats to trigger by-elections.

Saturday, October 28, 2017

As a person who has lived in Yarmouth all my life I think it’s a shame the town has been let to run down over the years.

Friday, October 27, 2017

Thanks to two who helped me

Thursday, October 26, 2017

Three local slimmers whose lives were transformed by their weight loss, are using their successes to shape a whole new career.

Tuesday, September 26, 2017

Great Yarmouth rider Harley Matthews pulverised the course record for the Waveney Valley 25-mile course when he won the Godric CC 25 in 51:37.

Wednesday, August 30, 2017

Hope is fading for a missing diver who was exploring a shipwreck off the coast of Great Yarmouth.

Friday, August 25, 2017

So often one thing leads to another, the latest example being my feature a fortnight ago about the Duchess of Bedford, an ardent pilot who died when her aircraft inexplicably flew over the North Sea and crashed in 1937.

Monday, August 21, 2017

Raising a glass to ten years of Out There festival

Monday, July 31, 2017

A writer for a national newspaper has said Great Yarmouth is “way cooler than you think”.

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

A group of five quick thinking and brave police officers have received top awards for their efforts in preventing a woman jumping from Great Yarmouth’s Breydon Bridge.

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

A tradition thought to date back to 1556 has seen the mayors of Norwich and Great Yarmouth meet at Hardley Cross.

Monday, July 17, 2017

The lives of 11 men who died in a helicopter crash off Great Yarmouth have been remembered in an anniversary service of remembrance.

Sunday, July 9, 2017

I must now look for another dentist

Sunday, July 9, 2017

A special service is taking place next Monday (July 17) to remember the victims of a helicopter tragedy.

Wednesday, July 5, 2017

A special service is taking place on Monday to remember the victims of a helicopter tragedy.

Saturday, June 17, 2017

A charity has appealed to businesses to help support an exciting upcoming event in Great Yarmouth.

Friday, June 16, 2017

In 1844 Norfolk entered a new transport age with the opening of its first railway line.

Tuesday, May 30, 2017

Despite being the inspiration for one of Dickens’ biggest blockbuster novels Great Yarmouth has had a lacklustre literary career in the years since.

Friday, May 26, 2017

A row has broken out between Gorleston’s most famous hotel and the council after the firm behind the hotel went into liquidation.

Wednesday, May 17, 2017

He has performed across the globe and is a common sight in Norfolk as he busks in the region’s biggest cities and towns.

Friday, May 5, 2017

Ukip have had a ‘strong and stable defeat’ in Great Yarmouth at the county council elections.

Wednesday, March 29, 2017

They gave their lives during the darkest hours on the home front during the Second World War - and now their sacrifices have been remembered.

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Ernest Storry who has died aged 95 was a master upholsterer whose expert hands covered one of the most famous seats of the seventies.

Friday night football at Mundford Road proved a success for Thetford with a decent crowd for a battle for sixth place with the Bloaters ending in a 1-1 draw.

Tuesday, February 28, 2017

A senior member of a Lions club has been busy with her trowel and fork in Great Yarmouth as she helped to plant 100 daffodil bulbs within Anchor Gardens on the seafront.

Local Weather

Partly Cloudy

Partly Cloudy

max temp: 13°C

min temp: 11°C

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

cover

Enjoy the Great
Yarmouth Mercury

e-edition today

Subscribe

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter