Search

North Norfolk District Council

Monday, July 31, 2017

Living in a retirement bungalow or apartment on a former abattoir site may not be for everyone.

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

They are two communities joined together by a historic bridge over the River Bure.

Thursday, May 11, 2017

The owner of a popular riverside pub and restaurant faces a ban from managing his own food business and has been ordered to pay more than £3,000 after inspectors found a host of hygiene breaches.

Monday, March 13, 2017

Commonwealth flags are flying on town halls across Norfolk and Suffolk

Saturday, February 25, 2017

People in the region are facing the biggest hike in their council tax bills for a decade, with those living in Band D properties facing an annual increase of around £66.

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Thousands more homes and businesses across Norfolk are to be given access to high-speed fibre broadband with the announcement of a further £11m investment in the network.

Thursday, February 9, 2017

Voting is under way in the Waterside by-election in north Norfolk.

Wednesday, February 1, 2017

Changes to council ward boundaries could cement the Conservatives’ grip on power in north Norfolk according to the Labour Party.

Sunday, January 29, 2017

Time is running out for voters to share their views on proposals for new council ward boundaries across north Norfolk.

Wednesday, January 25, 2017

To faint hearts it may have seemed an insurmountable aim restoring a cliff path washed away by the surging tide. But a committed team were determined to regain their cherished access to an idyllic beach.

Friday, January 20, 2017

Norfolk and Suffolk seaside communities to benefit from government grant which could unlock treasure trove

Saturday, January 14, 2017

Flood defences along the Norfolk and Waveney coast may have kept one of the biggest tidal surges in years at bay last night but communities along the east coast woke up to damage and disruption this morning.

Friday, January 13, 2017

Up to 70 villagers took refuge in a pub tonight as the storm surge pounded the Norfolk coast.

Friday, January 13, 2017

Police are urging people to keep clear of the coast as reports have started to come in of “spectators” congregating at Pier Head in Gorleston and Great Yarmouth beach.

Monday, December 26, 2016

Every resident of Norfolk is being urged to pick up one bag of litter next year in a fresh drive to clean up the county.

Thursday, December 15, 2016

Less than a week after Norwich girl Summer Grant lost her life playing at a fair in Essex a prohibition notice was handed to the Ferry Inn at Horning when council officers found its bouncy castle totally unsecured.

Monday, December 12, 2016

A government minister has defended the “disaster” of introducing universal credit to Great Yarmouth – and blamed benefit claimants for some of the problems.

Friday, November 11, 2016

Liberal Democrat leader launches bid to oust Conservative councillor Tom FitzPatrick.

Monday, October 31, 2016

The tragic story of a Dutch skipper who drowned while working to protect a Norfolk community will be retold to mark the 20th anniversary of his death.

Wednesday, October 5, 2016

The leader of a council, who is losing three of his officers to a neighbouring authority, has said he feels there was a “breach of trust” over the controversial switch.

Thursday, September 29, 2016

Breaches of environmental protection laws will not be tolerated, the leader of North Norfolk District Council has warned.

Sunday, September 18, 2016

A campaign has been launched for communities in holiday hotspots to be given control of cash raised from council tax on second homes.

Thursday, September 15, 2016

The battle-lines for the North Norfolk constituency look set to be re-drawn for the next general election.

Thursday, September 15, 2016

A local authority hit by the loss of senior officers to a neighbouring council is to launch a review of its management structure.

Wednesday, September 14, 2016

Sheila Oxtoby is to become the new full-time chief executive of Great Yarmouth Borough Council, having filled the post part-time since November 2015 under an interim shared management arrangement with North Norfolk District Council.

Saturday, September 10, 2016

A blueprint has been set out for a new business hub meeting modern economic needs in north Norfolk.

Tuesday, September 6, 2016

Council leaders have voted to go it alone, ending an arrangement to share a senior management team with a neighbouring authority.

Tuesday, September 6, 2016

An MP has called for a “sense of urgency” to bring mounting issues of rubbish on the Broads to an end.

Friday, August 19, 2016

An arrangement which saw two Norfolk district councils share a chief executive and senior management staff looks set to break down.

Most Read

Local Weather

Sunny

Sunny

max temp: 20°C

min temp: 12°C

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

cover

Enjoy the Great
Yarmouth Mercury

e-edition today

Subscribe

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter