Sunday, March 11, 2018

A snowy owl has made an “extremely rare” visit to Norfolk this weekend - thousands of miles away from its usual feeding ground.

Friday, March 9, 2018

There’s an old saying that children should be seen and not heard, but a local community radio station is set to change all that.

Tuesday, March 6, 2018

A piece of advice from his dad, who died from advanced prostate cancer seven years ago, may have saved Steve Brown’s life.

Monday, March 5, 2018

Dog walkers have been urged to stay watchful of their pets after unfamiliar substance began washing up on several beaches.

Friday, March 2, 2018

Here is the latest on First Bus services in Norwich, Great Yarmouth and Lowestoft.

Friday, March 2, 2018

Do not travel unless it is an emergency - that was the message from police in Norfolk this morning as snowdrifts and high winds caused chaos on the roads overnight.

Wednesday, February 28, 2018

Part of the A47 has reopened after an earlier crash involving several vehicles - but severe delays remain.

Tuesday, February 27, 2018

It may be named ‘The Beast from the East’ but our region’s pets are certainly loving the white stuff. Take a look at these fantastic pictures our readers have shared.

Friday, February 23, 2018

It was a time when the gruesome exploits of a band of ruthless men cast a shadow on the world of science as they stole corpses from graveyards - but in Norfolk, it was the surgeon son of a Yarmouth vicar who actually commissioned the deed.

Saturday, February 17, 2018

It’s a question which has divided the people of East Anglia for years.

Monday, February 5, 2018

Victims of sexual abuse and violence are being encouraged to speak out as Norfolk Police supports a national week-long campaign to raise awareness.

Friday, February 2, 2018

Up to 81 patients may have died due to ambulance delays in the east of England over a three-week period, according to a Norfolk MP.

Friday, January 26, 2018

Wands at the ready because Harry Potter Book Night is upon us once more.

Wednesday, January 24, 2018

Steak lovers were left in the lurch on Tuesday as Wetherspoon pubs were forced to scrap their regular Steak Club.

Friday, January 19, 2018

They say still waters run deep, and the Lily Pit at Gorleston is no exception. Rumours abound that the pit was once haunted - but which of the three stories attached to it rings the truest?

Tuesday, January 9, 2018

The A47 has reopened near Norwich after a crash this morning.

Thursday, January 4, 2018

A Gorleston school is closed today due to a burst pipe and electrics failure.

Tuesday, December 26, 2017

Drivers are warned to take care on the roads as temperatures are set to drop.

Wednesday, December 20, 2017

A school has given out a holiday homework list aimed at encouraging children to turn away from their screens and enjoy simple pleasures this Christmas

Sunday, December 17, 2017

Norfolk has woken up to frosty and icy roads this morning.

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

A flurry of fury is raining down on councillors who voted to give themselves a big increase in their allowances.

Monday, December 4, 2017

Shoppers at dozens of East of England Co-op stores will be able to buy food past its best before date to help reduce waste.

Thursday, November 30, 2017

Norfolk and Suffolk is bracing itself for snow, ice and high coastal winds.

Sunday, November 26, 2017

Police said a drink driver whose car landed on its roof following a crash was lucky to escape with minor injuries.

Thursday, October 19, 2017

Radical reforms to Norfolk’s police force have provoked a furious response from the union - and a note of caution from the county’s police and crime commissioner.

Thursday, October 12, 2017

Rail passengers are being asked not to pull the emergency cord if there is a medical emergency on board a train.

Sunday, September 24, 2017

A new series starring comedian Jack Whitehall and his father, Michael, hit Netflix on Friday (September 22).

Saturday, September 16, 2017

A long-suffering seal may have spent more than six months with a frisbee trapped around her neck.

Monday, September 11, 2017

A social media campaign highlighting pioneering research and a bid to raise awareness of sepsis have bagged one of the region’s hospital two spots on an awards shortlist.

Thursday, August 24, 2017

To celebrate National Burger Day, we asked our readers to share their favourite places to go for a burger in Norfolk. Here’s a look at their suggestions...

Local Weather



max temp: 1°C

min temp: 0°C

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition


Enjoy the Great
Yarmouth Mercury

e-edition today


Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter