Search

army

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

German prisoners of war left their mark in a Broadland village with phrases like “I’m cold” and “seig heil.”

Friday, October 6, 2017

Time to end the school protest

Friday, May 19, 2017

People over a certain age are being urged to help rid Great Yarmouth’s main beach of rubbish.

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Ernest Storry who has died aged 95 was a master upholsterer whose expert hands covered one of the most famous seats of the seventies.

Wednesday, February 22, 2017

With Storm Doris set to bring gusts of 70mph across the region tomorrow, we look back at the devastating storm of October 1987 which caused chaos.

Thursday, January 12, 2017

Several residents living near Gorleston seafront and the river in the Great Yarmouth have received automated messages telling to take young children and pets upstairs for safety for the next 24 hours.

Monday, January 9, 2017

A former parish councillor has paid tribute to a Second World War veteran ahead of his funeral tomorrow.

Thursday, December 29, 2016

A village has rallied round to give a Second World War veteran a fitting funeral after learning he was to be buried in an unmarked grave 10 miles away from his former home.

Saturday, December 17, 2016

Christmas Day will be a busy one for community bus driver Phil Abbott – as he gets behind the wheel to help a festive charity event.

Thursday, November 24, 2016

An In Memoriam family announcement with a difference was published in the Mercury last month, for it appeared on the centenary of the death of a soldier “serving in the front-line trenches and being gassed in France” in the First World War.

Local Weather

Partly Cloudy

Partly Cloudy

max temp: 13°C

min temp: 5°C

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

cover

Enjoy the Great
Yarmouth Mercury

e-edition today

Subscribe

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter