Search

Trevor Wainwright

Tue, 15:14

The opening of an £8m centre of excellence demonstrates an energy services company’s commitment to the Norfolk coast, one of its bosses has said.

Friday, May 4, 2018

With counting finished in the local elections in Norfolk, there have been gains for Labour in Norwich but UKIP has lost seats in Great Yarmouth.

Friday, May 4, 2018

Battle lines are being drawn as the Tories and Labour face each other across the chamber at Great Yarmouth Borough Council.

Friday, May 4, 2018

The results of all 13 wards have been announced at Great Yarmouth Borough Council elections.

Saturday, April 7, 2018

The candidates set to stand in the Great Yarmouth Borough Council elections next month have been revealed - with The Tribune Party set to take part in its first ever election.

Wednesday, April 4, 2018

A by-election is to be held after a Great Yarmouth councillor resigned her seat.

Thursday, February 22, 2018

Traders at Great Yarmouth’s Six Day Market have been given a financial boost by the borough council.

Thursday, February 22, 2018

Norfolk could live to regret the decision to scrap its police community support officers.

Thursday, February 8, 2018

A decision over a controversial planning bid to build 71 homes in Gorleston has been deferred for the second time by councillors after they heard about safety fears.

Tuesday, January 23, 2018

Work to build a landmark £7m headquarters for a major energy sector employer at Beacon Park in Gorleston has reached a key milestone with the company’s logo fixed onto the building today.

Wednesday, January 10, 2018

A £780,000 project in Gorleston has created six new council houses and two permanent jobs.

Monday, December 11, 2017

Dozens of children have enjoyed a Christmas party at a Gorleston church hall.

Wednesday, November 29, 2017

A bid to save a much-loved icon of seaside engineering have been welcomed by councillors.

Wednesday, November 22, 2017

Listed and listing, Great Yarmouth’s once magnificent Winter Gardens are held up by an internal scaffolding frame awaiting some more permanent form of rescue.

Friday, November 17, 2017

I sadly step down from my group

Thursday, November 16, 2017

Great Yarmouth’s Business of the Decade will be announced this Friday night at the glittering trophy presentation ceremony for the Spirit of Enterprise Awards.

Monday, November 13, 2017

Villages near Great Yarmouth have been spared cuts to grants for services like grass cutting and maintaining bus shelters.

Thursday, November 9, 2017

The way voters choose their councillors in the Great Yarmouth area is to change from May 2019.

Wednesday, November 1, 2017

Senior political figures are calling for defecting Ukip councillors to resign their seats to trigger by-elections.

Tuesday, October 31, 2017

Senior political figures are calling for defecting Ukip councillors to resign their seats to trigger by-elections.

Friday, October 27, 2017

It has been recommended that the Marina Centre on Great Yarmouth’s sea front be torn down and replaced with a new facility.

Thursday, October 12, 2017

Businesses are reminded that they have until noon on Monday, October 16 to enter the Spirit of Enterprise Awards 2017, the most prestigious annual celebration of business excellence in the Great Yarmouth borough.

Monday, October 9, 2017

Festive shoppers in Great Yarmouth town centre will benefit from free all-day parking every Sunday, from Sunday, November 26 to Sunday, December 30.

Thursday, October 5, 2017

An ice rink looks set to return to Great Yarmouth this Christmas after councillors voted to spend nearly £100,000 to bring one to the Market Place.

Wednesday, October 4, 2017

Could you be the Business of the Decade? That’s the opportunity offered to top-performing Great Yarmouth businesses as the Spirit of Enterprise Awards marks its 10th anniversary with the introduction of a special award.

Friday, September 22, 2017

A long running flooding saga could be coming to an end after nearly a decade, but not for at least another 18 months.

Wednesday, July 26, 2017

A £10m bid to breathe fresh life into Great Yarmouth’s seafront Winter Gardens has been boosted by a borough council funding allocation of £20,000.

Monday, July 17, 2017

A major milestone has been reached in a project to build a landmark headquarters for the energy sector in Gorleston.

Monday, July 3, 2017

A series of litter pick events are being held in Great Yarmouth.

Local Weather

Sunny

Sunny

max temp: 16°C

min temp: 13°C

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

cover

Enjoy the Great
Yarmouth Mercury

e-edition today

Subscribe

Newsletter Sign Up

Great Yarmouth Mercury weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter