Search
Wednesday, July 10, 2019

A man who arranged for two teenagers to deal drugs on the streets of Great Yarmouth has become the first to be convicted for County Lines drug dealing in Norfolk under modern slavery laws.

Read more
Monday, July 1, 2019

A man is due to appear in court later this month after a 20-year-old was stabbed in Great Yarmouth.

Read more
Monday, June 24, 2019

A man who was caught carrying a hammer and a knife told police he had "people after me", a court has heard.

Read more
Wednesday, June 19, 2019

A man was found with wraps of heroin and cocaine in a Kinder egg which had been concealed up his bottom, a court has heard.

Read more
Friday, June 14, 2019

Rail passengers face disruption this morning following some cancellations between Norwich and Great Yarmouth.

Read more
Thursday, June 13, 2019

A man attacked a homeless woman and left her for dead following a "worrying and disturbing" assault in Great Yarmouth, a court has heard.

Read more
Tuesday, June 4, 2019

A man has been warned he faces the "peril of immediate custody" after admitting carrying a knife in Great Yarmouth.

Read more
Tuesday, May 14, 2019

An unexploded rifle grenade has been found at woodland near Great Yarmouth.

Read more
Monday, May 13, 2019

A woman mounted a kerb and lost control of her car, crashing into three vehicles in a supermarket car park following an argument with a passenger, a court has heard.

Read more
Friday, May 10, 2019

A man has appeared in court after he was found with more than 200 expanding bullets.

Read more
Thursday, May 9, 2019

A warrant has been issued for the arrest of a man who failed to attend court to be sentenced for a number of offences, including possessing a knife in a public place.

Read more
Monday, April 29, 2019

A man pulled his hand out of his pocket in a "gun gesture" after staff at a hospital tried to stop him from leaving, a court has heard.

Read more
Sunday, April 28, 2019

Firefighters have been called to a chimney fire near Great Yarmouth.

Read more
Wednesday, April 17, 2019

A man who had no money to pay for a taxi fare offered to leave an axe in the car as he went to get the money to cover the cost, a court has heard.

Read more
Tuesday, April 2, 2019

A nuisance 999 caller who called the ambulance service more than 100 times after she became "obsessed" with a paramedic has appeared back in court for repeatedly breaching a criminal behaviour order.

Read more
Sunday, March 24, 2019

Fire crews were called out to reports of a house fire in Great Yarmouth.

Read more
Norfolk Fire and Rescue Service
Saturday, March 23, 2019

A man is to go on trial accused of causing death by dangerous driving after a man was killed when he fell from the back of a vehicle.

Read more
Thursday, March 14, 2019

A jury in the trial of five people accused of being involved in a drugs conspiracy which flooded Great Yarmouth with cocaine and heroin will resume their deliberations on Friday (March 15).

Read more
Norwich Crown Court
Monday, March 11, 2019

People in Norfolk are being urged to bin their blades as part of a national campaign aimed at cutting knife crime on the streets.

Read more
Lorne Green
Wednesday, March 6, 2019

Rail passengers can expect disruption between Norwich and Great Yarmouth.

Read more
Great Yarmouth
Tuesday, February 26, 2019

A man accused of guiding a drugs conspiracy which flooded Great Yarmouth with cocaine and heroin has denied any involvement.

Read more
Norwich Crown Court
Monday, February 25, 2019

An actor best-known for his part in British film This is England has told how he was lucky to have kept his licence after he was caught speeding.

Read more
Norwich Magistrates Court
Wednesday, February 20, 2019

Two Norfolk women who suffered devastating domestic abuse have been praised for their "overwhelming bravery" after their stories are to feature in a new hard-hitting TV documentary which airs tonight (February 20).

Read more
Norfolk Police
Monday, February 11, 2019

Two police officers have been injured following arrests made in Great Yarmouth.

Read more
Great Yarmouth Police
Friday, February 8, 2019

The father of a "beautiful girl" who died after she was supplied drugs by two men said he "wished with all his heart they were dead".

Read more
Stephen Holt
Thursday, January 31, 2019

A judge apologised to the family of a "beautiful young woman" who died after being given drugs when he had to put off sentencing the men who supplied her as they had not been brought to court.

Read more
Great Yarmouth
Saturday, January 19, 2019

Staff at Norfolk Fire and Rescue Service have helped rescue a pigeon from a chimney.

Read more
Norfolk Fire and Rescue Service
Saturday, January 19, 2019

One person has been treated by the ambulance service following a building fire in Norfolk.

Read more
Friday, January 11, 2019

Two cars have been seized by police in the Great Yarmouth area.

Read more
Tuesday, January 8, 2019

Two men convicted of the murder of five people in an explosion in Leicester have been found not guilty of charges relating to illegal cigarettes found in Great Yarmouth.

Read more
Stephen Holt

Local Weather

Sunshine and Showers

Sunshine and Showers

max temp: 22°C

min temp: 14°C

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

cover

Enjoy the Great
Yarmouth Mercury

e-edition today

Subscribe

Newsletter Sign Up

Great Yarmouth Mercury weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy