The leader at Norfolk County Council has announced a reshuffle of key political posts at the authority.

Kay Mason Billig, leader of the Conservative-controlled council revealed a change to her cabinet make-up at the full council meeting on Tuesday (May 7).

Great Yarmouth Mercury: James BenslyJames Bensly (Image: Norfolk Conservatives)

She announced that James Bensly has replaced Eric Vardy as the council's cabinet member for environment and waste.

Mr Vardy, who represents the Holt division, had held the role since May 2022.

Great Yarmouth Mercury: Eric VardyEric Vardy (Image: Supplied by the Conservatives)

Mr Bensly, who represents East Flegg, succeeds him. The responsibilities of the role include environmental policy, climate change mitigation and adaptation, flood and water management, coast and countryside access and waste management.

Mrs Mason Billig said Mr Vardy had been a "champion for the environment" and thanked him for his contributions during his spell in the cabinet role.

Chris Dawson has also replaced Lana Hempsall as a deputy cabinet member.Great Yarmouth Mercury: Kay Mason BilligKay Mason Billig (Image: Norfolk County Council)

The council also has a new chairman, with former West Norfolk Council leader Stuart Dark, who represents Dersingham, taking over from Barry Stone, who represents Clavering.

Great Yarmouth Mercury: Stuart DarkStuart Dark (Image: Norfolk Conservatives)

Mr Dark said his theme for the year would be volunteering, saying Norfolk's volunteers are the "heartbeat" of the county.