Yarmouth by-election to be held after councillor quits her seat

PUBLISHED: 16:08 04 April 2018 | UPDATED: 16:08 04 April 2018

View south along Hall Quay in Great Yarmouth towards the town hall.

Picture: James Bass

View south along Hall Quay in Great Yarmouth towards the town hall. Picture: James Bass

(C) Archant Norfolk 2013

A by-election is to be held after a Great Yarmouth councillor resigned her seat.

Labour’s Lea Davis decided to step down and return to her native Australia because a family member was ill.

She was elected to represent the Central and Northgate ward in May 2015.

Labour group leader Trevor Wainwright said she had been a hardworking councillor.

He added she was not on that many committees because of her commitments working for Labour MP for Norwich South Clive Lewis.

The by-election will be held on the same day as the local elections on Thursday May 3, when 13 other seats will be contested.

The borough council has 39 councillors who represent 17 wards across the borough.

Local elections will not be held in the Ormesby, Fleggburgh, West Flegg, and St Andrews wards, whose electorates are not large enough to have three councillors each. There are no parish council elections this year.

Nominations close at 4pm on Friday, April 6.

All councillors this year will be elected for a term of one year, rather than the normal four.

Following a local referendum, the borough council is moving to whole council elections from May 2019, when all 39 seats will be available.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad. Coronavirus is one of the greatest challenges our community has ever faced, but if we all play our part we will defeat it. We're here to serve as your advocate and trusted source of local information.

In these testing times, your support is more important than ever. Thank you.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Great Yarmouth Mercury