Acle bowlers among the honours

BOWLS: Having secured their fourth successive Hansell’s Premier League title earlier in the week, Acle scored a double when they won the Lord Fermoy Cup double rink championship by beating Downham Market in the final by 35 shots to 28.

Acle won on both rinks with Paul Webb’s four beating Peter Chestney and Andy Siely beating Peter Boldero.

Rink scores: Mark Elliott, George Tubby, Tony Dunton, Paul Webb 18; Rocky Lewis, John Sewell, Harold Bell, Peter Chestney 15. John Colcombe, Marcus Colcombe, Tony Seabourne, Andy Siely 17; Max Harrison, Derek Kellow, Kelvin Rayner, Peter Boldero 13.

Acle also won the Watering Bowl, beating Martham in the final at Caister.