Albion on cup trail

Great Yarmouth & District Football LeagueAlbion (GY) progressed to the semi-final of the Norfolk Primary Cup by defeating Norton Athletic Reserves 4-2.

Great Yarmouth & District Football League

Albion (GY) progressed to the semi-final of the Norfolk Primary Cup by defeating Norton Athletic Reserves 4-2.

After an even opening Norton took the lead just before the half-hour mark but Albion were level five minutes before the break through Johnny Bowles. Norton regained the lead in the second period before Peter Oldham headed in Bowles corner. Matthew Oldham put Albion ahead and Bowles sealed the win with his second four minutes from time.

Four was the common denominator in the second division where the morning leaders Hemsby Reserves were beaten 4-3 by mid-table Great Yarmouth United. The visitors scored through Jonathan Firman (2) Warren Hooper and Billy Lawson.

MK United Reserves take over at the top after defeating a battling Carpathians 4-1. Ryan Booth open the scoring for MK, who increased their lead five minutes before the break, Jack Stewart finding the top right corner.

Carpathians reduced the arrears when Leeroy Ray scored after a move the full length of the pitch. MK took over when Ryan Gowing's shot deflected off Lee Orchison to restore the two-goal lead, and substitute Richard Harris drilled one in on the volley to make the final score of 4-1.

Most Read

Martham A scored four times at home to Shrublands but the visitors scored seven through Arren Howarth (2), Jason Thompson (2), Jordan Howarth, Danny Glover and Steve Gates to move into second spot.

Prostar Windows move into fifth spot after a 4-0 win at Gorleston Wanderers thanks to doubles from Mark Wiseman and Steve King.

Norfolk and Chance are a further point back and Great Yarmouth Peelers another two after sharing four goals. Jason Howell and Adam Searby scored for the hosts and Richard Jepps and Mark Sutton for Wanderers.

South Yarmouth won 4-1 at Paperclip, thanks to two goals from Glen Linnett and one each from Maximillian Moerkerk and Nathan Copping.

The top three all won in Division One. Leaders Catfield beat Gunton 10-2 with a hat-trick from Karl Barnard and two each from Chad Pillar, Adam Thompson, Gary Todd with Ben Tavares completing the scoring. The two sides meet again tomorrow in the last eight of the Wiltshire Cup.

Second placed MK United travelled to fourth-placed Reedham for the second week running, having won 7-2 in the cup the previous week and returned with all three points. AR Hogg (3), AD Hogg, R Coe and L Jackson scored in a 6-4 triumph while two goals from Scott Calver just edged it for Arches as they narrowly defeated Golfers Arms 2-1.

A point for Caister A lifts them off the bottom of the table as Karl Cooper, Sam Pullin and Karl Ottolangui scored in a 3-3 draw at home to Lacon Arms.

Tramway return to the bottom spot as they lost 4-2 to Great Yarmouth International.

Tomorrow's other Wiltshire Cup quarter-final pairs holders Arches against second division high-flyers Albion while Caister A entertain Golfers Arms. Another first versus second division tie sees Shrublands host Lacon Arms in a delayed second round tie with South Yarmouth awaiting the winners.

January 24. Norfolk Primary Cup fifth round: Albion (GY) 4, Norton Athletic Reserves 2.

Division One: Caister A 3, Lacon Arms 3; Catfield 10, Gunton 2; Golfers FC 1, Archers 2; Reedham 4, MK United 6; Tramway 2, GY International 4. Division Two: Gorleston Wanderers 0, Prostar Windows 4; Great Yarmouth Peelers 2, Norfolk and Chance 2; Hemsby Reserves 3, Great Yarmouth United 4; Martham A 4, Shrublands 7; MK United Reserves 4, Carpathians 1; Paperclip 1, South Yarmouth 4.

Fixtures for January 31. Wiltshire Cup second round (2pm): Shrublands v Lacon Arms (Common, Malcolm Hubbard); third round (2pm): Arches v Albion (GY) (Mill Lane, Nigel Evans); Caister A v Golfers FC (Caister, Peter Cater); Gunton v Catfield (Mill Lane, Brian Russell).

Division Two (2pm): Carpathians v Great Yarmouth Peelers (Ormesby, Neil Farrow); Gorleston Wanderers v Norfolk and Chance (Halvergate, Philip Burrows); Great Yarmouth Utd v MK United Res (Mill Lane, Paul Emblem); Martham A v South Yarmouth (Martham, Robert Manship); Paperclip v Hemsby Res (Mill Lane, Jason Elliott).