Anniversary for Cliff Hotel bowlers

BOWLS: Cliff Hotel Bowling Club members held their end-of-season annual dinner at the hotel.

This was an extra special occasion because the club were celebrating their 30th year since being formed. There are only three founder-members still playing – Roy Base, Roger Farrow and Michael Sayer.

Chairman Roy Base thanked the hotel for an excellent meal. He also thanked the committee – consisting of president Rodney Scott, secretary Roger Farrow and treasurer Doug Williams – captain Michael Sayer and vice-captain Frank Gibbs for their contribution in the continued success of the club, and president Rodney Scott for his sponsorship.

Special praise went to Roger Farrow for not only organising the pre-season buffet and annual dinner but for all the other work as secretary during the season. Doug Williams was thanked for looking after the accounts.

The team was also thanked for their continued support and dedication.

The team which plays in the Lothingland League, and organised by secretary Barry Chapman, had not done quite so well this year mainly due to the loss of players but were hoping to recruit some new ones before next season.

The club competitions were organised by Derek Needham and he was thanked for his hard work.

Most Read

Results of competitions: Club Cup: winner Michael Sayer, runner-up John Davies. Cliff Hotel Cup: winner John Davies, runner-up Pat Groom. Doubles Trophy: winners: Rodney Scott and Peter Ladmore, runners-up Richard Groom and Ivan Gilbert.