Bloaters’ future bright

GREAT Yarmouth Town FC’s presentation evening for the first and reserve teams took place at the Talk of the Town last Friday evening.

There was a welcome from Paul Tong the first team manager, who highlighted the achievement of ensuring the team’s Ridgeons League Premier Division status for the coming season after promotion the year before.

Despite the off-field problems midway through the season and the loss of some players, the team managed 14th in the league, which was encouraging with such a young squad and augurs well for the future.

The club is indebted to its youth system, with up to 10 players involved in the final games of the season having come through the U18 and U16 teams.

This is a great tribute to all the people involved with the youth and along with the younger age groups it gives them the opportunity to perform and progress, said Tong.

By blooding them in the reserves, along with playing in the Ridgeons Youth League, the players seem to be maturing much quicker these days.

A great example of this is that the Bloaters will be losing top scorer Jake Reed to Dagenham and Redbridge.

Most Read

The club awards: Fred Smith Memorial trophy, Luke Fell; Aubrey Darmody Trophy presented by Cindy Darmody, Jake Jessup; Simon Scott-Greenard Shield, Richard Giles; Clubman of the Year, Kevin Cruickshank.

First team awards: Manager’s player of the year, Luke Fell; players’ player of the year, Jake Reed; supporters’ player of the year, Dominic Smith; leading goalscorer, Jake Read.

The Reserves managed by Kevin Cruickshank finished a commendable third in the Ridgeons Reserve North Division with a new side assembled this year made up of locally-based players and youth team members. They also reached the third round of the County Cup.

Reserve team awards: Manager’s player of the year, Olly McCarthy; joint players’ player of the year, Olly McCarthy and Peter Souza; supporters’ player of the year, Peter Souza; leading goalscorer, Olly McCarthy.

Flowers were presented to Cindy Darmody, Sarah Cruickshank, Elizabeth Giles, Marianne McNally and Kat for their assistance throughout the season.