Bowls honours for Acle, Freethorpe and Bradwell

Bowls teams from Acle, Freethorpe and Bradwell were among teams celebrating success at this year’s Hansells Solicitors Norfolk County EBA presentation lunch.

Acle St Edmunds topped the Premier Zone of the Hansells Norfolk League for the second year to retain the Cromer Cup, while John Colcombe, Tony Dunton and Tony Seabourne were crowned the new triples champions and presented with the Arthur Bush Cup. They also won the Eastern Counties triples.

Acle B were runners-up in the W P Baker Cup and won their division in the East Zone of the Hansells League.

n In the pictures Hansells Norfolk EBA and Eastern Counties triples champions left to right are Tony Seabourne, Hansells partner Nick Sutherland, Tony Dunton, Norfolk EBA president Brian Howes and John Colcombe.

Acle retained the Cromer Cup for winning the Hansells Solicitors League Premier Zone for the second year in succession. Left to right are Hansells partner Kathryn Hirst, Norfolk EBA president Brian Howes, John Colcombe, Mark Elliott, Tony Seabourne and Tony Dunton.

Acle B were runners-up in the W P Baker Cup. Brian Grint (centre) is congratulated by Hansells partner Hugh Lansdell (left) and Norfolk president Brian Howes.

Freethorpe won the mixed fours championship.

Most Read

Bradwell A and B teams won their divisions in the Hansells League East Zone with the A team also collecting the Hansells Cup runners-up trophy.

The wealth of talented U25 players and the strength of comprehensive sponsorship from Hansells Solicitors and Financial Advisers has put Norfolk EBA in fine fettle for next year’s 75th anniversary celebrations, said Norfolk president Brian Howes.

Six of this year’s Middleton Cup national team came from the U25 ranks, while junior players also figured well in the county and Eastern Counties championships.

“Norfolk has always been a big force in bowls over the years and I think we are going to be an even bigger force in the future,” said Mr Howes.

During the lunch at the Holiday Inn, Norwich, Mr Howes heaped praise on sponsors Hansells, whom he described as an “absolute godsend”.

“Hansells’ backing is fantastic and without their input we would find it very difficult to function.”

Hansells managing partner Roger Holden said it was a delight to be part of a sporting community where everyone was so easy to work with – and so committed to their sport. “Hansells are looking forward to sharing in next year’s 75th anniversary celebrations. It will be a very special year,” he said.

Topping the individual lists this year was 21-year-old Wayne Willgress of Mulbarton, who won both the county open singles and U25 singles title – and repeated the feat in the Eastern Counties competitions. He is an U25 international.

Guests at the presentation lunch included the President of Bowls England, Chris Smith, who responded to a toast proposed by next year’s Norfolk president-elect Derek Talbot. Mr Smith also paid tribute to the quality of sponsorship provided by Hansells.

The toast to Hansells Solicitors Norfolk County EBA was given by Suffolk EBA president Terry Bacon.

Hansells Norfolk County EBA Bowls Association Roll of Honour

Singles Championship (Sir Henry N Holmes Trophy): Winner Wayne Willgress (Norfolk Bowling Club); Runner-up John Ottaway (Wymondham Dell).

Pairs Championship (W T George Trophy): Winners Charlie Boon, Philip Day (Norfolk Bowling Club); Runners-up Sam King, Jamie Chestney (Hunstanton).

Triples Championship (Arthur Bush Cup): Winners John Colcombe, Tony Dunton, Tony Seabourne (Acle St Edmunds); Runners-up Daniel Pag,e Graeme Kynoch, Stephen Ellis (Cawston).

Fours Championship (R G Pilch Cup): Winners Charles West, David Naunton, Chris Willgress, Wayne Willgress (Norfolk Bowling Club); Runners-up Sam King, Colin Reed, Colin Bix, Mark Riches (Hunstanton).

Under 25s Championship (Horace Leech Memorial Trophy): Winner Wayne Willgress (Norfolk Bowling Club); Runner-up Max Harrison (Downham Market).

Club Championship (Bales Cup): Winners County Arts; Runners-up Norfolk Bowling Club.

Double Fours Championship (Lord Fermoy Cup): Winners County Arts; Runners-up Hunstanton A.

Mixed Fours Championship (A Jermy Cup): Winners Freethorpe; Runners-up (Norfolk Bowling Club).

Premier Zone (Cromer Cup): Winners Acle St Edmunds.

W P Baker Cup: Winners G W Staniforth; Runners-up Acle B.

Acle St Edmunds retain Norfolk County EBA crown

Hansells Solicitors League Cup: Winners Hunstaton B; Runners-up Bradwell A.

Zone Winners: Central Thetford A, Mundford. North R G Carter A, R G Carter B. East Acle B, Bradwell A, Bradwell B. South Gissing A, Long Stratton. West Wootton Park, Hunstanton B, Sculthorpe.