Gorleston Golf Club’s ladies reach last four of Cranworth Trophy

Gorleston club captain Stuart Low presenting George Willard Cup to Charlie Peacock (to his right), p

Gorleston club captain Stuart Low presenting George Willard Cup to Charlie Peacock (to his right), pictured with other competitors. Picture: Club - Credit: Archant

There was a great win for Gorleston Ladies in a week of mixed results for the club in county knock-out competitions.

Firstly the men played for the David Mobbs Trophy named after a past captain and president of the club.

The winner was Ray Thompson with an excellent 39 points from Steve Symonds on 38 points. Division Two went to Andy Klein on 39 points from Arthur Fellingham with 37 points. Division Three was won by Martin Bullen (40 points) from Barry Peake (37).

The men’s Parks team played their County Knock-Out match away to Felixstowe Golf Club. Despite putting up an excellent fight they were beaten.

On the same day the men’s Beaumont Team played at home to St Audreys. Again despite an valiant effort they ran out second on the day. Both teams had done extremely well to reach this stage.

The ladies’ Cranworth Team (handicaps 21-30) travelled to Fynn Valley Golf Club to play in the quarter-final against the current holders Halesworth. This is a gruelling 36 hole competition where the team play three foursomes matches in the morning followed by six singles match play games in the afternoon.

Despite being 2-1 down after the morning foursomes the ladies dug deep with the match being won by a putt on the 36 hole in the afternoon by Rosemary Woodhouse to give the team a 5-4 victory.

Most Read

The team progress through to the semi-final where they will meet Newton Green at Fynn Valley. This was an excellent win - it was the first time the Cranworth team had reached the semi-finals since the club’s centenary in 2006.

Meanwhile at home the ladies played for the Millichamp Trophy and this year’s winner was Anne Amos with an excellent 69 nett from Jackie Walsh in second (74 nett). Division Two was won by Neilma Jary on countback from June Elliott on 74 nett. The Division Three winner was Rosemary Hodgkin 74 nett from Maggie Hart in second on 75 nett.

The juniors played for the George Willard and Turner Cups. The George Willard Cup went to Charlie Peacock with a brilliant nett 64 from Tom Hellary (nett 67). The nine hole competition was won by Abi Carr with a super 21 points and the six hole competition by Conner Sims (7) by one point from George Loud.