Great response to Reedham Ten

GYDAC Reedham Ten

“OVERWHELMED” was the comment from the race director Pat Brightman at the response to the third running of Reedham ten-mile road race held on Sunday around the beautiful villages of Reedham, Limpenhoe, Freethorpe and Wickhampton – organised by the Great Yarmouth and District Athletic Club.

The conditions were ideal for running, although a little chilly for the marshals and spectators.

The race was started by Sophie Mckinna, GYDAC’s international shot putter.

A record-breaking 401 runners and one wheelchair athlete tackled this undulating course — they found much encouragement along the way from the villagers and were greeted on every corner by the marshals from GYDAC with their very cheerful smiles.

The field included some top-class runners, as indicated by the results and the smashing of course records.

Not all the competitors were from the Norfolk area — there were several entrants from Cambridge, Lincolnshire, Essex and London, all of whom travelled some distance to reach a remote location.

Most Read

The winner in a course record time was Stephen Barnes from Brundall who finished in a creditable time of 55:41, closely followed by David Bettison of Cambridge Tri Club in 55:53.

Third was Charles Wartnaby, also from Cambridge, who finished in 55:57. The next three finishers also beat the previous course record of 57:57.

The ladies’ race was easily won, again in a course record time, by Philippa Taylor from Nene Valley Harriers in 1-00:12, some four minutes ahead of Alex Smith from Norwich Road Runners in 1-04:19.

She was two minutes in front of last year’s winner, Racheal Leathwood also of Norwich Road Runners, who beat her time to complete in 1-06:26.

The course record breakers received a voucher for �100 from Runners Centre, Norwich.

Peter Downing completed this tough course, especially for a wheelchair athlete in 1-21:26.

Norwich Road Runners had a clean sweep of the team prizes, winning the Men’s and Ladies’, Senior and Masters. All the finishers received a goody bag and a memento of the day.

Sophie Mckinna presented excellent trophies to all the winners, age category winners and team prizes.

Thanks went to sponsors and supporters — MR Scaffolding, the Reedham Ship Freehouse, Cobalt Systems (Reedham).

The day could not have been a success, however, without the help of the Reedham Village Hall committee, the members of GYDAC and their families, SJAB, all the runners and their supporters.

GYDAC’s next race is the Humpty Dumpty 10k on Sunday, June 26 at 10.30am.

Overall winners

Men: 1 Steven Barnes 55:41 (CR), 2 David Bettison (Cambridge Tri Club) 55:53, 3 Charles Wartnaby (Cambridge and Coleridge AC) 55:57. Seven men broke the previous course record of 57:57.

Ladies: 1 Philippa Taylor (Nene Valley Harriers) 1-00:12 (CR), 2 Alexandra Smith (Norwich Road Runners) 1-04:19, 3 Racheal Leathwood (Norwich Road Runners) 1-06:26. All three broke the previous course record of 1-08:33.

Age Category Winners

Men’s Senior: 1 Mazeyar Firouzi (CSR Running Club) 56:07, 2 Richard Bateson (Lincoln Wellington AC) 56:34, 3 Tim Topper (Norwich Road Runners) 57:03.

40-44: 1 Roger Stone (Felixstowe Road Runners) 1-00:38, 2 John Walshaw (City of Norwich AC) 1-02:46, 3 Mark Clues (Tri-Anglia) 1-02:49.

45-49: 1 Mark Garrett (Norwich Road Runners) 1-02:31, 2 Edward Greenland (Wymondham AC) 1-04:30, 3 Neil Sibley (Great Yarmouth Road Runners) 1-04:45.

50-54: 1 John Oakes (Cambridge and Coleridge AC) 57:33, 2 Richard White (Wymondham AC) 1-02:52, 3 Dale Hurren (Norwich Road Runners) 1-05:38.

55-59: 1 Peter Johnson (Norfolk Gazelles) 1-03:43, 2 Martin Yeomans (Norwich Road Runners) 1-06:23, 3 Terry Epps (Wymondham AC) 1-08:12.

60-64: 1 Richard Blake (North Norfolk Beach Runners) 1-07:25, 2 Ken Bowman (Coltishall Jaguars) 1-10:19, 3 David Aldis (City of Norwich AC) 1-10:37.

65-69: Verne Barltrop (100 Marathon Club) 1-13:00, 2 Peter Samuelson (Spectrum Striders) 1-22:05, 3 Noel Spruce (North Norfolk Beach Runners) 1-23:32.

70+: 1 Malcolm Ball (North Norfolk Beach Runners) 1-28:42, 2 Mike Creasor (Road Runners Club), 1-33:53, 3 George Dawson (Bushfield Joggers) 1-37:37.


Senior: 1 Katie Samuelson (Cambridge and Coleridge AC) 1-10:28, 2 Claire Vinsen (Wymondham AC) 1-12:59, 3 Eve Dewsnap (Tri-Anglia) 1-14:14.

35-39: 1 Sharon Hurren (Wymondham AC) 1-09:10, 2 Emma Addleton (Norwich Road Runners) 1-09:33, 3 Tanya Crofts (Wymondham AC) 1-10:34.

40-44: 1 Mary Narey (Stowmarket Striders) 1-12:01, 2 Judith Durrant (Reepham Runners) 1-16:25, 3 Lucy Cooper (Norfolk Gazelles) 1-17:18.

45-49: 1 Sally Cushing (Norwich Road Runners) 1-14:15, 2 Gillian Loughlin (City of Norwich AC) 1-16:19, 3 Karen Robertson (Bedford Harriers) 1-19:35,

50-54: 1 Frances Cooke (March Braza) 1-16:13, 2 Bobbie Sauerzapf (Bungay Black Dog AC) 1-21:16, 3 Jackie Bye (Coltishall Jaguars) 1-21:38.

55-59: 1 Carol Betts (Norfolk Gazelles) 1-18:48, 2 Anne Ellen (Norfolk Gazelles) 1-21:31, 3 Heather Appleton 1-25:15.

60-64: 1 Julia Middleton (Newmarket Joggers) 1-18:14, 2 Gill Woodhouse (Dereham Runners AC) 1-27:51, 3 Yvonne Mallett 1-50:16.

65+: 1 Carole Spong (Great Yarmouth RR) 1-30:09, 2 Margaret Ison (North Norfolk Beach Runners) 2-14:57.

Team Winners

Senior Men: Norwich Road Runners (Tim Topper, Paul Higham, Mark Merrywest).

Senior Ladies: Norwich Road Runners (Racheal Leathwood, Anna Kirkham, Tanya Dugdale).

Men’s Masters: Norwich Road Runners (Mark Garrett, David Tandy, Dale Hurren).

Ladies’ Masters: Norfolk Road Runners (Alexandra Smith, Emma Addleton), Lisa Goodwin).