Big night for Great Yarmouth Cycling Club

PUBLISHED: 09:03 23 February 2018

Tom Moore and John Parker

Tom Moore and John Parker


Great Yarmouth Cycling Club’s 94th annual presentation dinner was held at the Royal Assembly Rooms.

Lynn Evans and Larry ColbyLynn Evans and Larry Colby

Lifetime member John Parker was there to award the trophies.

It was a good night for Jonny Hawes who took home the Somerleyton Cup, awarded to the fastest member to complete a 10 mile time trial on the Somerleyton course during the season (23:46).

He also took home the Pendle Cup, awarded to the fastest member to complete a 30 mile time trial on the same course (1-14:32).

The Ray Lawler Trophy, awarded for the fastest on handicap on a club 25, was also won by Jonny. The last trophy to be awarded to him was the Hercules Cup, won with a time of 1-02:29.

Louise Averre and John ParkerLouise Averre and John Parker

Also having a good night was Julian Claxton who recorded the fastest 50 mile time (2-09:24) to secure the University Cup. The Premier Cup for 100 miles saw Julian get to within six minutes of the club record when recording 4-25:28. He also claimed the Ferrier Cup which is awarded to the most consistent rider on a points basis and the SLP Trophy, awarded to the club’s best time trial all-rounder.

Jenny Anderson won the Yvonne Westgate Ladies Shield, which is awarded to the woman rider with the fastest average speed over any two 10 mile and 25 mile time trials.

The Hadden Cup, an outstanding trophy first awarded in 1928, was awarded to Jan Smith, the fastest rider on handicap over 50 miles (1-39:36).

The Vice-President’s Cup for best all-rounder was won by Bryan Averre while Larry Colby won the Henry Sutton Novices Cup for the fastest ride by someone who has never taken an award over the distance of 25 miles (1-03:59).

Julian Claxton and John ParkerJulian Claxton and John Parker

Other winners: Larry Colby (Derek Evans Memorial Shield), Louise Averre (O’Neil/Dennington Bowl), Anthony Field (Pettingill Hill Climb Shield), Chris West (Tourist Trophy), Colin Barker (Attendance Shield), Alice Codling (TS Fitch Cup), Tom Moore (Bullimore Trophy, Road Race Trophy. Holmes Cup: Great Yarmouth Cycling Club beat Lowestoft’s Velo Club Barrachi with 73 points.

The evening was rounded off with a life membership award given to chairman Norman Harlow to express the club’s gratitude for all the time and hard work he puts in.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Great Yarmouth Mercury. Click the link in the orange box below for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad, serving as your advocate and trusted source of local information. Our industry is facing testing times, which is why I’m asking for your support. Every single contribution will help us continue to produce award-winning local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Thank you.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Great Yarmouth Mercury