Great Yarmouth runners enjoy Turkey Trot challenge

Turkey Trotters: Members of the Great Yarmouth Road Runners who tok part in Sundays annual 10-mile T

Turkey Trotters: Members of the Great Yarmouth Road Runners who tok part in Sundays annual 10-mile Turkey Trot road race organised by the Waveney Valley Athletics Club. - Credit: Archant

The Turkey Trot 10-mile race in Beccles, organised by Waveney Valley Athletics Club, traditionally has a good turnout from Great Yarmouth Road Runners and this year was no different with an exceptional performance from 17 members of the club, with three female prizes and 10 personal bests, although unfortunately colds and injuries caused another four Great Yarmouth runners to miss the race.

Starting and finishing at Beccles Sports Centre the race does a loop of the quiet country roads to the south west of Beccles and despite the recent cold snap the lanes were mostly ice free.

Marc Evans led the charge for The Seasiders closely chased by Matthew Sutton, Matt Buckoke, Andrew Baker and Mark Stone.

Matthew and Matt initially ran together with Andrew Baker nearly catching them at the halfway point until they slightly raised the pace with Matthew pulling away from Matt on the final hill at the nine-mile mark.

Mark Stone followed Andrew in, with Ian Tooley not too far behind pleased with his best time of 1.14.39.

New member Stuart Canwell had a good race and chased in Ian with only seven seconds between them.

Vicki Quantrill was the first lady home for GYRR with a time of 1.17.39 winning the female vet 40 prize.

Most Read

Lorrain Dawson had a great race winning the female vet 55 prize and showing she’s well on track with her London Marathon training.

David Loveridge, another new member, overcame a foot injury to come in with a respectable 1.21.35.

Claire Baker knocked five minutes off her time from last year coming in with a best of 1.24.29.

Andreas Brodbeck came next with Kerstin Langer improving her time with a best of 1.26.37.

Elaine Stone celebrated her birthday in style with a time of 1.27.05 followed by Lisa Smith and Carl Jessup both getting a best of 1.30.53.

Carole Spong also finished in style with a time of 1.34.22 winning the female vet 65 prize.

Other results were: 42nd Marc Evans 1.08.11 (pb), 45th Matthew Sutton 1.08.59, 48th Matt Buckoke 1.09.26 (pb), 50th Andrew Baker 1.09.43 (pb), 63rd Mark Stone 1.12.53, 75th Ian Tooley 1.14.39 (pb), 76th Stuart Canwell 1.14.46 (pb), 99th Vicky Quantrill 1.17.39, 128th Lorrain Dawson 1.21.11, 132nd David Loveridge 1.21.35 (pb), 159th Claire Baker 1.24.13 (pb), 163rd Andreas Brodbeck 1.24.29, 178th Kerstin Langer 1.26.37 (pb), 182nd Elaine Stone 1.27.05, 210th Lisa Smith 1.30.53 (pb), 210th Carl Jessup 1.30.53 (pb), 220th Carole Spong 1.34.22.