Hockey Club high flyers

Gorleston Hockey Club held their annual meeting at The Albion, having won promotion to Division Two (North) of the East Men’s League for next season.

This is the highest level the club has played at for many seasons.

Gorleston HC finished second in their division last season, winning 18 games, drawing one and losing three during the course of the campaign.

At the annual meeting, club chairman Russ Crawford praised the club for their respect to umpires and determination to win games in the later stages.

Awards were presented to two players. Suraj Rajput won the player of the season award and also finished as top scorer for the club.

Jason Austin won the John Dawson centenary award for his influence of the formation and style of play that the team adopted.

The club were also very pleased to agree a new sponsorship deal with The Albion for next season, which renews a long-standing relationship between the hockey club and this friendly pub.

Most Read

Jason Austin, GHC chairman Russ Crawford and Suraj Rajput are pictured.