Ladmore’s late fightback topples King

Yarmouth Table Tennis League

Group A of the Spring Pairs was held at the Cliff Park and was down to two teams to fight for the top place. Broadland Sports and Police failed to arrive.

Two youngsters were played to give more games, although their results did not count. Dominic Cutter had a good game against Paul White going down 20-21. A play-off between Carl Stevenson and Dominic was a win for Carl putting St Johns through to the final. Group B held at Mill Lane was very competitive, five of the games were won at 21-20. Ryan Wing of Cliff Park Tigers was victorious over Malcolm King then the latter won by the same score over the Tigers’ Kane Simmonds.

The two outstanding games were the win for Curtis Beales over Paul Wright Jnr to take his tally to three wins and Wally Ladmore coming from l6-20 down to snatch victory by the odd point over Malcolm King.

Kings A topped the group with Lewis Carby unbeaten followed by C P Tigers with six points. Yarcons Sparks topped Group C with Brendan Green unbeaten Andy Knell dropped just one point. Albert Cadmore (Gorl Cons) (who were runners-up) came from behind to snatch a 21-20 win over Caleb Norris for ENSFC who with Jack Nickerson notched up four wins. Rosa Hogarth fought hard and was rewarded with a 21-20 win over Kasey Bailey representing C P Lions (his first match). Kasey also lost 20-21 to Brendan and 20-21 to Caleb.

Josh Baker played well for the Lions winning four games. Burrage came out top of Group D dropping only two points Peter Littleboy was unbeaten. Telecom had Dick Boyce and Alan Jones winning seven games followed by Kings Church B and Yarcon Dynamos.

Terry Shetcliffe just lost out 20-21 to Peter Littleboy but managed a 21-19 win over Alan Jones who bounced back with a great win of 21-7 over Alex Haley. Telecom were runners-up.

Most Read

Group E had several games going to 20-21 and in a play-off ENS FC A came out the winners over Caister B to take top spot-Liam and Matt Current had some good games for Caister The final will be held early April. An earlier report should have read Lewis Carby defeated Paul Wright Jnr in the 5th set 11-8.