Mixed bag for Gorleston golfers in county contests

Gorleston Golf Club

In an extremely busy, competitive week for Gorleston players it was one of mixed fortunes in Suffolk County competitions for the ladies. Ladies’ captain Chris Knappett, partnered by Tanya McGregor, represented the club in the Haskell Cup competition first round tie and were beaten away at Bungay by a very strong pair. It was the second defeat in a week at the hands of Bungay after the Ladies friendly team had earlier lost 2�-1�.

The Ladies invited 19 teams of four from 14 clubs around the region for their annual AM-AM Open last week and after a closely-contested competition, the winners from Royal Cromer returned 84 points to fend off the challenges of four teams jointly returning 82 points.

A team of eight Ladies made their debut in the new Suffolk Shield competition, with team eligibility restricted to players over the age of 60. In the first round they hosted neighbours Rookery Park and soundly beat the visitors by 27 holes over the four matches played. Pick of the performance was the pairing of Heather Harvey and Rosemary Woodhouse who won their match by a very impressive 10 holes. The team now host Flempton in the next round.

The Senior Men’s team were also in action in the Beaumont Trophy first round and welcomed Southwold to Gorleston; again the home side recorded a resounding victory by 10 holes with three of the four pairings successful in their individual matches in a contest played in appalling weather conditions.

Chris Reynolds recorded his first victory of 2012 in the Centenary Cup with a nett 70 in this Mixed Medal competition, while the following day, the Juniors played their Centenary Cup, resulting in an impressive win for 11-year-old Bradley Thomson with a fine nett 72.

On Sunday the men competed for the Millichamp Trophy which is played in conjunction with the May Monthly Medal.

Most Read

A superb round of nett 65 saw Stuart Mortimer lift the main prize of the day and also Division One of the Medal.

Other divisional winners were Mel Walsh in Division Two and Howard Garner in Division Three.