Parkrun nearing century landmark

PUBLISHED: 08:40 28 January 2011

FOR the second consecutive week 75 runners took part in the Gorleston Cliffs parkrun, and despite generally slower times in the face of a stiff north-easterly, 11 people still managed to record personal bests.

First home in run 92 was Chris Cooper of Lowestoft RR in 19:56 for his third win.

Close behind, David Hughes recorded 20:03 for equal best performance of 71.2 per cent on the day. Also with 71.2 per cent was Diane Crosby who recorded a time of 28:47. Third male runner was Jonathon Meadows of Lowestoft RR in 20:51.

First lady home was visiting runner Gemma Greenwood from Serpentine RC who completed in 22:17. Second was Victoria Swanston in 24:09 and third Nichola Seeley in 25:14.

Nick Overy leads the men’s points table by 464 and Elaine Stone the ladies’ by just 84 points from Pauline Richardson.

After the race Chuck Weigand was presented with his T-shirt for the completion of 50 parkruns.

All details and results for the Gorleston Cliffs parkrun can be found on the parkrun website by following the links.

All are welcome to join in this fitness event. It happens every Saturday morning at 9am and is free.

The only requirement is to register your details on the website before taking part and being there a few minutes before the start.

The aim is to encourage 100-plus people to take part in the 100th run on March 19 when the popular event will have beem running for nearly two years.

Results of parkrun 92

1 Christopher Cooper M 19:56 SM20-24 (Lowestoft Road Runners), 2 David R Hughes M 20:03 VM45-49, 3 Jonathan Meadows M 20:51 SM30-34 (Lowestoft Road Runners), 4 James Norman M 21:02 SM35-39, 5 Keelan Pywell M 21:03 JM15-19 (Great Yarmouth & D istrict AC), 6 Jethro Walters M 21:07 SM20-24, 7 Sam Metcalfe M 21:11 SM30-34, 8 Matthew John Buckoke M 21:32 SM35-39, 9 Darren Cains M 21:34 SM30-34, 10 Paul Timms M 21:52 SM30-34, 11 Kevan Pywell M 22:02 VM50-54 (Great Yarmouth & District AC), 12 Nick Overy M 22:11 VM40-44, 13 Nigel Hallybone M 22:12 VM40-44, 14 Gemma Greenwood F 22:17 SW30-34 (Serpentine RC), 15 Duncan Harrison M 22:40 SM35-39, 16 Luke Blackwell M 22:43 SM25-29, 17 Ben Harding M 22:46 SM20-24, 18 Mark Elflett M 22:50 VM45-49 (Lowestoft Road Runners), 19 Stephen Leeves M 23:03 VM50-54 (Great Yarmouth Road Runners), 20 James Donnelly M 23:32 VM40-44.

21 Kane Simmonds M 23:41 JM14 (Great Yarmouth & District AC), 22 Dave Girling M 23:41 VM45-49 (Great Yarmouth Road Runners), 23 Steve Stringer M 23:59 VM40-44 (Great Yarmouth Road Runners), 24 Dan Hurren M 24:05 SM30-34, 25 Victoria Swanston F 24:09 SW30-34, 26 Andrew Neil Baker M 24:11 VM40-44 (Great Yarmouth Road Runners), 27 David Punt M 24:22 VM55-59 (Bungay Black Dog RC), 28 Martin Simpson M 24:39 SM30-34, 29 Michael Dean Dale M 24:43 VM40-44, 30 Shaun Taylor M 24:51 VM45-49, 31 Neil Read M 24:52 SM30-34, 32 Martin Hazell M 24:52 VM40-44, 33 Matt Ellis M 25:09 SM35-39 (Lowestoft Road Runners), 34 Nichola Seeley F 25:14 SW20-24, 35 Lorrain Dawson F 25:24 VW50-54 (Great Yarmouth Road Runners), 36 Pauline Richardson F 25:46 VW50-54, 37 Adele Postle F 25:52 VW45-49 (Great Yarmouth & District AC), 38 Matthew John Harrison M 25:53 SM30-34, 39 Bobbie Sauerzapf F 25:56 VW50-54 (Bungay Black Dog RC), 40 Rob Simons M 25:58 VM50-54.

41 Howard Wilcox M 26:01 VM50-54, 42 Sue Fraser F 26:03 VW50-54 (Great Yarmouth & District AC), 43 Georgina Scott F 26:19 SW30-34 (Lowestoft Road Runners), 44 Paul Ferrow M 26:33 VM50-54, 45 Tabatha Sims F 26:54 VW40-44, 46 Cathy Tooley F 26:57 VW45-49, 47 Peter Spandler M 26:57 VM50-54 (Great Yarmouth Road Runners), 48 Chris Carter M 27:20 VM40-44 (Norwich Road Runners), 49 Graeme Kidd M 28:31 SM35-39, 50 Sarah Parkes F 28:36 VW35-39, 51 Dianne Crosby F 28:47 VW60-64 (Great Yarmouth Road Runners), 52 Gary David Newman M 28:51 VM40-44, 53 Sara Bullock F 29:02 VW35-39, 54 Maria Ball F 29:04 VW40-44, 55 Chuck Weigand M 29:26 VM65-69 (Great Yarmouth Road Runners), 56 Amy Shearing F 29:34 SW30-34, 57 Dean Crook M 29:44 VM40-44, 58 Faye Ellis F 29:58 SW30-34 (Lowestoft Road Runners), 59 Rachel Harrison F 30:30 VW35-39, 60 Sarah E Brown F 30:52 VW35-39.

61 Claire Margaret Dunnett F 31:11 VW35-39, 62 Karen Haughton F 31:22 VW50-54, 63 Vasos Kikis M 31:59 VM50-54, 64 Elaine Stone F 34:43 VW50-54, 65 Linda Allen F 34:43 VW60-64, 66 Jean Withington F 35:45 VW55-59, 67 Clare Margaret Hodges F 35:46 VW55-59, 68 Wendy Sutton F 36:38 VW50-54, 69 Matthew Sutton M 36:38 SM20-24 (Great Yarmouth Road Runners), 70 Anita Elizabeth Betts F 36:5 8 VW60-64, 71 Emma Claire French F 37:21 SW25-29, 72 Nicholas Dyer M 37:46 VM45-49, 73 Phillip Laurier M 38:20 VM60-64 Lowestoft Road Runners, 74 Anthony Harris M 41:12 VM55-59, 75 Elizabeth Allen F 42:14 SW30-34.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Great Yarmouth Mercury. Click the link in the yellow box below for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad, serving as your advocate and trusted source of local information. Our industry is facing testing times, which is why I’m asking for your support. Every single contribution will help us continue to produce award-winning local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Thank you.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Great Yarmouth Mercury