Rattlidge wins Gorleston winter series on countback

Gorleston GC

The Men’s Winter Stableford series reached its climax last Thursday with 92 qualifiers playing in the final. In a closely-fought contest 39 points proved to be the winning score for Tony Rattlidge, but only after countback with Phil Evans and Les Tuck both also recording the same score.

Winner of the Foolhardy Trophy for the best five aggregate scores throughout the series went to current Club Captain Glen Harman who received the trophy from the competition organiser and Club President Mike Amos.

On Sunday the rearranged February Monthly Medal was played with divisional winners being Matthew Alp (Division 1) with a nett score of 69. Division Two winner was Mel Walsh also returning nett 69, whilst in the third division Tony Rattlidge completed a good week’s work recording a nett 70 for victory.

Good luck to Tanya McGregor who has qualified as the Gorleston Ladies’ representative to compete in the 2012 Volvo EWGA Regional Medal Final at John O’ Gaunt Golf Club, Bedfordshire on Wednesday.

National competition draws have been made for both teams in the Mail on Sunday Classic. In the fourth round, the Ladies have a home draw against Norwich club Eaton whilst the men have to travel to Woodbridge for their match, both of which have to be played by April 30.