Retroskate stars clinch medal success at gala

JUDGES and competitors from across the country attended the first roller skating gala held in Great Yarmouth for more than 25 years.

More than 500 people attended the gala at Retroskate on Marine Parade, which saw former skating star and international coach Jocelyn Taylor return to her home town for the event. Jocelyn, who coached Retroskate director Glenn Wicks, will be back to hold a training session with Retroskate members in the new year.

The club achieved its biggest medal tally at a gala winning 33 medals.

Judges marked the scores in competitions ranging from under fives to over-35s. The day finished with a club show with guest judges, ex-ladies champions Valerie Woolsey-Self and Lynne Talbot and Yarmouth mayor Micheal Jeal.

Ladies champion Corrina Haylett travelled from Windsor to attend. Retroskate Artistic had 40 skaters in the gala. The club, which celebrated its first anniversary last month, is already one of the biggest in the country.

Coaches Glenn and Donna Wicks, Jane Jiggins, club show coach Gaynor Read and choreographer Valerie Gibbs were delighted with the results.

Donna said: “It was wonderful to see so many past Great Yarmouth skaters and champions return to the skating scene to show support for the club. We would like to say a huge thank-you to DJ Lee Howes, all the club skaters and their parents who volunteered prior to and the day of the gala and Amanda Blyth for her help with extra coaching.”

Most Read

For more information call 01493 854349, visit or www.retroskate

Medal winners: Dulcie Read 2x gold; Emily Deag, gold; Emily Jarvis, gold; Danielle Tuddenham, gold, bronze; Danielle Temple, silver; Charlotte Huxtable, bronze; Daisy Robinson, 3x silver; Harlee Wicks, gold; Ebbonie Hunt, silver; Lily Robinson, bronze; Jessica Smoulton, gold; Harley Hunt, 2x silver; Molly Wilson, bronze; Chelsea Virgo, gold, silver; Katie Virgo, bronze; Zoe Scarff, gold; Hanah Hastings, bronze; Malaki Mitchell, silver; Gemma Cook, gold, silver; Philip Flint, gold; Abbie Hendry, silver; Amanda Blyth, 2x silver; David Etherington, bronze.