Rollesby, Winterton, Martham and Blundeston win cricket awards

The Lucas Fettes Norfolk Cricket League honoured its stars of the season at the annual awards night attended by over 230 players, officials and guests at the Ramada Jarvis Hotel in Norwich.

The new Tony Gregory Spirit of Cricket Award – presented to the team recording the highest average spirit of cricket score per game across the entire season – was awarded to Rollesby from Division One.

This award was renamed in memory of the late league treasurer and stalwart of Drayton CC Tony Gregory. It was decided that Drayton should keep the old trophy, having won it for the third time in four years in 2009.

“It is very encouraging to see this particular award being presented to a Division One team as it is often assumed that the matches are more ‘competitive’ in the higher divisions.

“It is to be hoped that with Rollesby winning the award it proves that the game can still be played in the proper spirit even at the top of the league,” said league chairman Alan Harris.

Tom Bartram, NCL President, presented three of the major awards which he provided.

Receiving the President’s awards were: Julian Dismore of Felthorpe CC, Overall Batsman of the Year (920 runs at an average of 102.22); Mark Stewart of Loddon CC, Overall Bowler of the Year (40 wickets at an average of 12.73); and Tim Hoare of newcomers to the league Gillingham CC, Overall Wicketkeeper of the Year (458 runs at 57.25 and 14 dismissals).

Most Read

Mark (having already collected the Division One Bowler of the Year award) also took away the Overall All-Rounder of the Year award (464 runs at 51.56 to accompany his 40 wickets) highlighting a hugely-successful first season with Loddon, who finished as runners-up in their first season in Division 1. Mark was also the only bowler in any division to take 40 wickets in 2010.

There was the high number of younger players in attendance, and receiving the U19 Player of the Year awards from Mark Brown of the sponsors were: Alex Sayer of Martham CC (Batsman – 513 runs at 57.00) and Elliot Gooch of Blundeston CC (Bowler – 25 wickets at 8.00).

League vice-chairman Jon Cooke wished Winterton success next year after their well-deserved promotion to the Norfolk Alliance.

In other divisions, Eaton CC ‘cleaned up’ on the individual awards for Division Three with Sam Butcher winning the Division Three Batsman of the Year award (426 runs at 71.00) and Luke Billington winning the Division Three Bowler of the Year award (30 wickets at 12.77).

Kevin Stagles (602 runs at 66.89) celebrated winning the Division One Batsman of the Year award, and both East Harling (Division Two champions) and Sprowston B (Division Three champions) celebrated ‘back-to-back’ title-winning seasons having won Divisions Three and Four respectively in 2009.

Cooke thanked the sponsors for their support and announced that they had agreed to continue for 2011. Mark Brown (Director, Lucas Fettes & Partners), a former Norfolk League player, said: “We were extremely pleased to be instrumental in providing a set of quality stumps for every club within the league this season, and we are currently discussing further ways to move our relationship forward.

“Over the next season, which will be the Norfolk Cricket League’s 40th anniversary, we hope to introduce additional services and benefits to clubs, league members and their friends and families.”