Season’s champions claim crowns

TABLE TENNIS: The preliminary rounds of the Great Yarmouth League championships were held at various locations ending with the semi-finals and finals at the Conservative Club.

President Edna Fletcher welcomed John Andrews, ETTA development manager (eastern region), to the event.

The youth semi-finals saw Alex Harley stave off the challenge of Lewis Carby 11/9, 9/11,11/7, 11/3 and Curtis Beales had an excellent win in three straight over Peter Littleboy.

In the final Alex won in three straight after a gallant effort by Curtis.

In the over 40s, Ernie George won against newcomer Darren Smith and Ray Lee went down to Wally Ladmore.

Wally had high hopes when he took the first game 12-10 in the final but Ernie fought back to win the next three and the title.

The doubles had three left-handers with the ‘odd one out’ being the veteran player Ray Lee who partnered Martin Clarke.

Most Read

They went down in the first 12/10 but fought back to win the second 13/11. Martin then won points on his loop shot to take the next two games against Ryan Moore and his young partner Lewis Carby to lift the title.

The final event, the singles saw Ernie George defeat Martin Clarke 13/11, 11/8, 11/4 and Ryan Moore took out Wally Ladmore in four hard-fought games.

In an exciting final Ernie took the title defeating Ryan in five games 11/9, 10/12, 12/10, 6/11, 11/6.

Edna Fletcher was referee.

Results: Burrage 10, Police 0; Burrage 9, BSC 1; Dynamos 4, St Johns B 6; Police 7, Sparks 3.

Burrage top Division One with 113 points, BSC have 111 and St John B (two games in hand) 102.

ENSFC A top Division Two by 11 points, Gorl Cons have 87.

Secretaries please note amendments/new rules must be received in writing by league secretary latest April 27. Quiz entries to Tony Flower.