Tyler battles against element to set new Great Yarmouth CC record

Great Yarmouth Cycling Club's Andy Tyler. Picture: Club

Great Yarmouth Cycling Club's Andy Tyler. Picture: Club - Credit: Archant

Andy Tyler travelled down to Aylesbury to take part in the VTTA London and Home Counties 10-mile time trial.

Weather conditions were dry, but wind conditions were horrendous.

Even so, Tyler managed to put in an excellent time of 20.34 with an average speed of 29.17mph. His time also knocking 47 seconds off the old Great Yarmouth CC record of 21.21, set back in 2011, a record that most riders can only dream of beating.

Closer to home was the VCB 10 on the A143 from Wortwell. Jonny Hawes was the fastest of the GYCC riders with a time of 23:34 (25.46mph). Tom Moore completed in 25.27 (23.58mph). Stephen Brown, riding fixed gear, completed in 26.18 (22.8mph). Jenny Anderson was the fastest of the GYCC ladies, completing in 26.51 (22.35mph) and Jan Smith in 28.28 (21.1mph).

The event was won by Matthew Senter (Team Velovelocity) in a time of 20.41 (29mph).

Jan Smith and James Soanes took part in the Diss evening 10 as a two-up. They completed the course in 30.15. The event was won by Simon Scott of Anglia Velo in a time of 22.45.

GYCC’s evening 10 Time Trial series is under way and 15 riders turned up to ride in less than ideal conditions with a tough head-wind. Jonny Hawes was once again the fastest of the GYCC riders, completing in 25.24 (23.6mph). Johnathon Lincoln completed in 27.07 (22.1mph). Jamie Robertson and Brian Carr finished in 31.02 (19.3mph) and 31.30 (19mph) respectively.

Most Read

Ron Bean and Paul Hastings were back representing the self-titled pensioner peloton, completing in 33.43 (17.8mph) and 34.54 (17.2mph) respectively. Jan Smith was the fastest of the GYCC ladies, finishing in 29.52 (20mph).

Chessie Wood took part in her first ever solo time trial, finishing in a time of 34.54. The event was won by Jack Ibbotson in a time of 23.30.

On Sunday Jan Smith was out competing again, this time in the Diss Open 10. Smith completed in 27.40. Rachael Holman was the fastest female with a time of 25.37. Matthew Senter won the event in 21.14.

Also on Sunday, two GYCC members competed in the Waveney Triathlon. It was a super sprint distance event, consisting of a 250m swim, 18km ride and a 3km run. Jamie Mordecai completed the course in 1:08.22 and Tom Moore completed in 1:04.28.