Winterton’s year of achievement

OVER 60 friends, guests and players of Winterton Cricket Club attended the annual end of season awards evening hosted by the Filby Bridge Restaurant last Friday.

After an excellent meal, chairman Geoff Roper began proceedings by commenting on how successful the season had been. He thanked Jackie Wichelow for her work as treasurer, Bryn Clarke as secretary, and groundsman Trevor Jones for producing excellent wickets to play on. All members and spouses who had made teas were especially thanked. The club was fortunate to have generous sponsors whose firms were displayed on match days and the club was very grateful. The second team had done remarkably well to maintain their position in League Four, and praise was due to skipper Phil Drake for as usual displaying supernatural patience when having to lose players to the first team.

The first team had been excellent all season and congratulations went to skipper Kevin Percival for leading the team to first place in Division One and therefore becoming champions of the Norfolk Cricket League. They are to move up in standard next season and play in the Norfolk Alliance.

The other major success of the season was how the newly established ladies team had so quickly developed and gelled. Winning three out of four fixtures, great credit went to Claire Utting for organising everyone, to ex-England international Janet Southgate in particular for her constant encouragement and technical prowess, and to coaches Kevin Percival, Bryn Clarke and Ben Utting for their hard work in developing raw ability into good technique. Over 20 ladies had attended nets regularly, and more fixtures were being actively sought for next year.

Phil Drake then spoke on behalf of the second team, paying particular emphasis on how well the young players were developing. First team captain Kevin Percival the congratulated all his players for becoming champions and Clare Utting spoke for the ladies on how well everyone had enjoyed the year. Presents were presented to the coaches.

Vice-Chairman Ben Utting then presented the awards for the season. First team bowler with 20 wickets was Ritchie Larner. First team batsman was Geoff Roper with an average of 55. Second team bowler was Gerry Gyde with 16 wickets, and second team batsman was Simon Tooley with an average of 40. Ladies bowler of the year was Clare Utting, Ladies batswoman of the year was Janet Southgate.

First team player of the year went to Josh Austin, with an average of 47 and 12 wickets. Second team player of the year went to Tom Wichelow, with 15 wickets. The first ever Ladies player of the year went Kate Roper, for her all-round ability with bat and ball.

Most Read

Young player of the year was Matthew Stanhope-Smith who had developed in technique quite brilliantly over the year and showed enthusiasm and commitment every match he played. Finally clubman of the year went to Phil Drake for always calmly going about things, organising and skippering the second team, and helping out in all aspects of club affairs.

Although enjoying the moment, the chairman finished by saying that some work was required over the winter to get the ground up to Alliance standard. New facilities were needed, and help was required both on and off the ground. Players need to attend on October 3 of at 9am to help Trevor with seeding and loaming the square.