Yarmouth Road Runners enjoy success at Reedham 10k

Great Yarmouth Road Runners

Yarmouth Road Runners had 24 club members in the Reedham 10.

Richard Blake, John Bone and Lorrain Dawson all won their age categories, while both Rod Shulver and Dianne Crosby came second in their categories.

Rod Shulver also claimed a new club record time for his age group. Mark Stone, Lorrain Dawson, Pauline Richardson, Peter Spandler, Kerry Nicholls, Dianne Crosby and Chuck Weigard all had a great start to the running year, obtaining personal bests.

Well done to everyone taking part in the event and also to Neil Sibley who was running in his 150th race for the club.

Thanks must go to Steve Etherington, Ann O’Leary, Carol Tennyson and Carol Spong who helped out marshalling and Heidi, Lois, Maddie and Phoebe who did the catering.

Results: 20 Mark Thompson 1-02:22, 43 Neil Sibley 1-05:37, 66 Richard Blake 1-07:53 age group winner, 112 Mark Stone 1-11:29, 128 Stephen Leeves 1-12:17, 143 John Bone 1-13:01 age group winner, 148 Matthew Sutton 1-13:17, 149 Mark Mountain 1-13:13, 168 Andy Peck 1-15:02 time affected by playtime, 227 Peter Matthews 1-20:32, 240 Lorrain Dawson 1-21:20 PB and age group winner, 245 John O’Leary 1-21:40, 261 Ivan Lees 1-22:53, 295 Pauline Richardson 1-27:14 PB, 296 Peter Spandler 1-27:37 PB, 297 David Girling 1-27:37, 298 Mark Peach 1-27:37, 312 Kerry Nicholls 1-29:49, 327 Rod Shulver 1-32:35 2nd in age group and club record, 342 Paul Spandler 1-34:14, 344 Dianne Crosby 1-34:46 PB and 2nd in age group, 359 Chuck Weigard 1-36:44 PB, 391 Bob Arnell 1-47:13, 392 Jim Spong 1-47:39

Most Read

At the club annual general meeting some of the club members were rewarded for their hard work over the previous year.

Runners of the Year: Karen Manning and Neil Sibley.

Personal Best Trophy Winner: Mark Mountain.

Club Person of the Year: Neil Sibley.

Most Improved Runners: Cathy Tooley, Kerry Nicholls, Mark Thompson and Mark Stone.

Half Marathon Champion Ladies: Carol Spong.

Half Marathon Champion Mens: Richard Blake.

10k Club Champion Ladies Senior: 1st Sylvia Dady, Ladies Vets. 1st Karen Manning, 2nd Lorrain Dawson, 3rd Nicola Baker.

10k Club Champion Men’s Senior: 1st Sean Jermy, 2nd Matthew Sutton. Male Vets: 1st Neil Sibley, 2nd Richard Blake, 3rd Andrew Peck.

Club Standards.

Diamond: Richard Blake.

Gold: Neil Sibley, Andrew Manning.

Silver: Phil Quantrill, Karen Manning, Andrew Peck.

Bronze: Mark Mountain, David Girling, Ivan Lees, Steve Stringer.

Copper: Sylvia Dady, Peter Spandler, Jim Spong.

There were nine Road Runners at Gorleston Park Run in another good field of 115.

Results: 29 Ivan Lees 24:38, 37 Mike Dale 24:50, 42 Pauline Richardson 25:22, 43 Stephen Leeves 25:22, 49 Steve Stringer 26:40, 55 Paul Spandler 28:01, 58 John Bound 28:25, 77 Bob Arnell 30:02, 106 Peter Harrison 40:54