Yarmouth Town boss Derbyshire “here for the duration”

Yarmouth Town return to action after a 21-day break with manager Mike Derbyshire reiterating that he is “here for the duration.”

Derbyshire missed the Bloaters’ last game – a 7-1 home defeat by Felixstowe last month – because of his father’s serious illness. But he has told fans on the club website that he is determined to see the task through “regardless of how difficult it is to take when we are so soundly beaten on our own patch.”

He admitted: “As I have said before, we simply have to play almost out of our skins to achieve a result, an average performance will see us beaten and if we have an off-day, we are likely to suffer badly. That is a shame but to be fair, the almost total lack of experience within the first team squad means it is a situation we have to accept at present.”

He welcomed the return of a small playing budget, thanks to the support of sponsor Mike Smith, and said the cash would be shared equally, rather than used to bring in star signings. The Bloaters face a stern examination tomorrow when Wisbech visit the Wellesley (3). In December Yarmouth were unable to raise a team to visit the Fenmen – one of the all-time low points during a traumatic season.

On Tuesday (Walmer Road, 7.45) Kirkley and Pakefield host a match to raise funds for the Bloaters.

The match is being backed by Wroxham and Gorleston FC – and will feature guest appearances from a number of players, including current K&P boss Paul Tong and his assistants Marty Hubble and Ian Griffin in a mixed Royals side that includes a selection of the first team squad.

Former Norwich City favourites Greg Shepherd and Greg Downs will also line up with former Lowestoft Town players including Craig Lewis, Darren Cockrill, Dale Haylock and Gary McGee in the K&P squad, which is managed by club coach Robbie Horton and assistant Russell Stock.

Most Read

They will face a Yarmouth Town FC squad featuring players past and present.

The Bloaters announced that among the players included in their squad thus far, are: Carl Reader, Mark Vincent, Lee Humphries, Ben Le Compte, Jody Harrison, Phil Wooldridge, Martin Wooldridge, Shaun Wright, John Randal and Zak Colman.