Young Bloaters’ awards night

Great Yarmouth Town Football Club held the first of four presentation evenings at the Talk of the Town (clubhouse) on Saturday evening with the U18 and U16 teams function to award trophies for the 2010-2011 season.

Paul Tong, the first team manager, welcomed the guests, players, parents and supporters, outlining the achievements made by the club and the players this year.

A highlight was the progression of players from the U16 and 18 sides who have represented the club in the reserves and first team.

This showed the reward for hard work and dedication of the players and that the youth policy within the club was paying dividends.

He cited the progression of Jake Reed from the youth set-up through the senior teams onto hopefully newer pastures in the next few weeks.

The U18 manager Ian Griffin gave a short speech on the U18s’ season with the team finishing fourth in the league, but only four points adrift of the champions Kirkley and Pakefield in this tightly contested league.

U18 awards: Manager’s player of the year Eddie Short, players’ player of the year Kris Howe, most improved player of the year Josh Ward, supporters’ player of the year Josh Trett.

Most Read

Ricky Lutchmaya, the U16 manager, highlighted the U16 Cup final victory as a fine achievement.

And finishing runners-up to Gorleston Rangers in the league contributed to a successful season for the U16 side.

U16 awards: manager’s player of the year Shaun Macleod, players’ player of the year Josh Cullington, most improved player of the year Matthew Borg, supporters’ player of the year Thomas Clark.

The next awards evening is the seniors’ presentation evening for the first team and reserves tonight (at the Talk of the Town 7.30pm for 8. The ladies’ team presentation dinner is being held at the Furzedown Hotel tomorrow, 7.30 for 8.