Search

Birmingham

Saturday, January 19, 2019

A shop worker from Norfolk has earned a place in the semi-finals of Miss England.

Sunday, December 2, 2018

Residents living in a Norfolk borough which in the last two weeks has seen a pupil take a knife into a primary school and a man confronted by a masked attacker armed with a knife have been reassured they live in a ‘safe area’.

Saturday, December 1, 2018

An East Anglian academy trust is set to shut down after its two schools joined another trust.

Monday, November 12, 2018

Staff members at academy trusts running dozens of schools in Norfolk and Waveney were paid in excess of £150,000 last year.

Wednesday, November 7, 2018

Kingfisher Amateur Boxing Club will return to Great Yarmouth’s Hippodrome for a special show, marking 100 years since guns fell silent.

Wednesday, October 31, 2018

The victim of a flat fire has been described as a “wonderful, gentle woman” by her family.

Saturday, October 13, 2018

A judge highlighted how the lack of stable accommodation helped draw young people into crime as he imposed a suspended jail term on a vulnerable woman caught dealing cocaine and heroin, in Great Yarmouth.

Friday, October 12, 2018

Concerns that progress to improve the A47 is in danger of falling behind prompted a Conservative councillor to launch a blistering attack on Highways England.

Friday, October 5, 2018

Financial columnist Peter Sharkey says a building disaster in Bulgaria and HS2 are good metaphors for avoiding bad financial plans

Tuesday, September 25, 2018

Labour is planning a radical overhaul in banking rules to stop branches closing in rural East Anglia.

Thursday, September 13, 2018

When nine-month-old Lillie McCarthy lost the use of her right arm due to a rare but serious infection, it could have left her with permanent damage.

Monday, July 16, 2018

A village school is celebrating after being recognised for setting up a caring crusaders and anti-bullying ambassador scheme.

Monday, July 2, 2018

Chris Baker says he is ‘over the moon’ to be crowned British men’s high jump champion.

Saturday, June 16, 2018

A couple from Birmingham made sure they got a prime view of the Great Yarmouth Air Show by securing a seafront bench.

Thursday, May 31, 2018

It was a brief holiday romance on an idyllic Mediterranean island that was a welcome distraction for a recently widowed Norfolk woman.

Tuesday, May 29, 2018

Website and restaurant guide SquareMeal has revealed the UK’s favourite places to eat following votes from thousands of its readers, as well as bloggers and local foodies.

Friday, May 18, 2018

Great Yarmouth’s Triple S Fight Team travelled to Birmingham to compete in the Thai, K1 and Kickboxing Championships over two days.

Monday, May 14, 2018

Aspiring car makers got to learn how to get into the industry during a special visit.

Sunday, May 13, 2018

An 18-year-old cellist from Gorleston has narrowly missed out on the prize of being named BBC Young Musician of the Year.

Saturday, May 12, 2018

A teenager from Gorleston will be performing in the grand final of the BBC Young Musician 2018 competition tomorrow evening.

Friday, April 6, 2018

Tributes have been paid to one of the longest-serving trustees of the Norfolk branch of the Campaign to Protect Rural England.

Thursday, March 29, 2018

Just three weeks ago Sophie McKinna was not going to the Commonwealth Games – but today she is in Australia and preparing to face a legend.

Tuesday, March 27, 2018

Car details have been released by police officers looking for a missing man who has links to Norfolk and East Anglia.

Monday, March 12, 2018

“There will be nobody like him ever again. He will never be equalled. When he came onto a stage he lit it up.”

Tuesday, February 27, 2018

Great Yarmouth’s Sophie McKinna will renew her rivalry with Rachel Wallader after both were named in an 11-strong GB team for the European Throwing Cup in Portugal.

Sunday, February 18, 2018

Great Yarmouth’s Sophie McKinna was involved in an epic battle at the British Indoor Athletics Championships in Birmingham yesterday.

Saturday, February 17, 2018

Henry Bolton has been ousted as Ukip leader after party members backed a motion of no confidence in him.

Local Weather

Partly Cloudy

Partly Cloudy

max temp: 3°C

min temp: 1°C

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

cover

Enjoy the Great
Yarmouth Mercury

e-edition today

Subscribe

Newsletter Sign Up

Great Yarmouth Mercury weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy