Search

United States

Tuesday, March 26, 2019

It is a £28m Norfolk business which makes 120 tons of pasta a day – and now the boss wants to take on the Italians. CAROLINE CULOT met Gordon Chetwood, managing director of Pasta Foods.

Monday, February 25, 2019

An actor best-known for his part in British film This is England has told how he was lucky to have kept his licence after he was caught speeding.

Saturday, February 16, 2019

Not one but two films featuring Great Yarmouth hit the big screen this year.

Saturday, February 2, 2019

Mobile phones should be banned from classrooms, with pupils to be lectured about the dangers of device dependency, the schools minister has said.

Friday, January 25, 2019

Detectives within Norfolk Police have been warned to be ‘uniform ready’ to potentially assist front-line policing duties in the event of a fall-out from a no deal Brexit, in particular fears of fuel shortages.

Thursday, January 17, 2019

A Norfolk man who lay ill in bed for a year when he was a teenager was inspired by a gift from his twin brother to travel the world.

Wednesday, January 2, 2019

A budget hotel chain has revealed a list of bizarre items left in its Gorleston hotel rooms including a suitcase full of masks from Venice, plane tickets to Sydney, a Harrod’s hamper, and even a kitchen sink.

Wednesday, January 2, 2019

Ten years ago Woolworths stores across the UK shut down, with branches in towns across Norfolk replaced by discount retailers and fast-food restaurants like Poundland and McDonalds.

Thursday, December 20, 2018

With the Norwich Ice Rink now open, would you like to know more about the facts and figures behind the scenes?

Friday, December 7, 2018

Taco Bell has opened its doors in Great Yarmouth for the first time after a surprise early opening, much to the delight of fans of the Tex-Mex fast food chain.

Thursday, December 6, 2018

A popular Christmas song inspires finance columnist, Peter Sharkey, to look at what investment has been like in 2018.

Tuesday, November 27, 2018

Small in stature but big in laughs, Tanyalee Davis will be the star at a new comedy night coming to Great Yarmouth.

Friday, November 23, 2018

During the Second World War it housed US troops and now it’s home to more than 4,500 books.

Friday, November 23, 2018

An American huntress has sparked outrage by posing for pictures with animals shot in Norfolk.

Friday, November 16, 2018

The sister of murder victim Hannah Witheridge has described as an “absolute atrocity” the actions of a tormenter troll who set up a “dark and unusual” fake profile in her name.

Wednesday, October 24, 2018

Head to Neil Potter’s house on October 31 and you’ll find the Grim Reaper in the front garden, a skull-clad front door and blinking skeletons beckoning you in to trick or treat.

Saturday, October 20, 2018

Police will begin using lie detector tests on sex offenders in Norfolk to help identify previously unknown information.

Friday, October 19, 2018

Saving for a prolonged period of travel is essential, says our financial columnist Peter Sharkey. And now might just be the best time to go.

Tuesday, October 2, 2018

An American filmmaker is on a mission to document as many Second World War veterans as possible before they die.

Sunday, September 30, 2018

Another giant US cruise ship has docked in Great Yarmouth’s Outer Harbour.

Friday, September 28, 2018

This week our financial columnist looks at how pensions fare across the globe – and which country is the wealthiest when it comes to their state pension

Friday, September 21, 2018

Following an extended summer break, Peter Sharkey returns with his popular personal finance column – and some good news for millennials.

Tuesday, September 18, 2018

Studios that helped to bring Avengers: Infinity War, Paddington and the latest Star Wars films to the big screen will showcase exciting career opportunities to young people in the region this autumn.

Wednesday, September 12, 2018

Wetherspoon is to stop selling Jagerbombs after the company announced it will no longer be stocking the German herbal liqueur used to make the popular drink.

Monday, September 10, 2018

Winning a second career Grand Slam singles title completed a ‘near-perfect’ fortnight for Alfie Hewett in the USA.

Monday, September 3, 2018

Alfie Hewett warmed up for the US Open in New York by beating world number one Shingo Kunieda in the men’s singles final at the US Open USTA Wheelchair Championships in St Louis.

Tuesday, August 28, 2018

As Britain’s prize curmudgeon - television’s irascible Victor Meldrew - would have exclaimed: “I don’t believe it!”

Friday, August 17, 2018

A Norfolk brewer is raising a glass after receiving a top prize at an industry awards ceremony.

Thursday, August 2, 2018

The region’s ambulance trust has floated the idea of asking volunteers to drive ambulances to help cope with winter pressures, it can be revealed.

Saturday, July 28, 2018

The sun has been shining on Old Buckenham Airshow as the storms from the night have moved away giving show goers a blue background to watch the display.

Local Weather

Sunny

Sunny

max temp: 14°C

min temp: 9°C

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

cover

Enjoy the Great
Yarmouth Mercury

e-edition today

Subscribe

Newsletter Sign Up

Great Yarmouth Mercury weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy