Search

Wales

Thursday, December 6, 2018

The number of additional deaths during winter almost doubled last year compared to the previous year across the UK, as the colder months took their toll on the elderly and infirm.

Tuesday, December 4, 2018

More than 135,000 children in Norfolk and Suffolk have not seen an NHS dentist in the last year, according to newly released figures.

Tuesday, December 4, 2018

A grandfather who “religiously” relied on a cocktail of prescribed drugs to get through the day has spoken of his relief at getting his life back.

Thursday, November 22, 2018

The rising tide of obesity has pushed the number of people in Norfolk and Waveney with diabetes past 50,000 for the first time - with warnings that the figure could be much higher.

Wednesday, November 14, 2018

Happy Birthday Prince Charles! Residents in Great Yarmouth wished the Prince of Wales a very happy 70th birthday at a special tea party held at the town hall on Wednesday afternoon.

Monday, November 12, 2018

Great Yarmouth’s beach has won a competition to receive a ‘big beach clean up’ on Tuesday.

Tuesday, November 6, 2018

The NR31 postcode area - covering locations like Yarmouth, Gorleston and Bradwell continues to be where the most homes sold in the whole of Norfolk and Suffolk over the past few months, according to a new report.

Friday, October 19, 2018

Saving for a prolonged period of travel is essential, says our financial columnist Peter Sharkey. And now might just be the best time to go.

Monday, October 8, 2018

Keepers and staff from Kessingland zoo Africa Alive! have raised £2,000 on the Three Peaks Challenge for the attraction’s chosen charity, Save the Rhino.

Saturday, October 6, 2018

A convicted paedophile was able to work unchecked as a Catholic priest in Norfolk for years - despite having a history of sexually abusing boys, an investigation can reveal.

Tuesday, October 2, 2018

An industry report has revealed half of food businesses in England do not display a hygiene rating.

Tuesday, September 18, 2018

The number of complaints recorded by Norfolk Constabulary has increased by 11 per cent, according to new statistics.

Monday, September 17, 2018

There are no plans to scrap NHS parking charges in Norfolk, despite it being announced fees in Wales would be axed.

Thursday, September 13, 2018

New rules introducing tougher sentences for anyone convicted of assaulting an emergency service worker are to become law today.

Thursday, September 13, 2018

The distraught parents of a woman from Ely who has been in a Great Yarmouth care home for five years - at the cost of more than one million pounds to Cambridgeshire County Council - say they live in a “nightmare” battle to get her home.

Tuesday, September 4, 2018

Our Haven Bridge spans the Yare...and this column spans the North Atlantic, reaching expatriates Danny and Marjorie Daniels, long resident in Canada where they read this weekly offering on-line.

Saturday, September 1, 2018

NHS dentistry in Norfolk is “heading towards the cliff edge” it has been claimed, as figures reveal nearly two thirds of dentists are thinking of leaving the profession.

Thursday, August 30, 2018

Children in England are to be banned from buying energy drinks under government plans.

Thursday, August 23, 2018

A patient in the east of England waited more than 24 hours for an ambulance, it can be revealed.

Sunday, August 19, 2018

The number of civil partnerships in Norfolk has fallen dramatically since same-sex marriage was legalised.

Friday, August 17, 2018

Great Yarmouth’s beach needs your vote to help keep it free of rubbish.

Monday, August 13, 2018

The uncertainty over the Brexit process has seen the number of people in the constituency of Great Yarmouth who want to stay in the EU increase.

Saturday, August 11, 2018

As the gavel came down on the final lot Charles Reynolds was overcome with a mixture of emotions.

Friday, August 10, 2018

A children’s charity has criticised the Government after it appeared to go back on plans to change the law which would protect teenagers from adults working in positions of trust.

Monday, August 6, 2018

Parts of Norfolk are set to experience some of the hottest temperatures in the country in the early part of the coming week.

Sunday, August 5, 2018

Parts of Norfolk are set to experience some of the hottest temperatures in the country in the early part of the coming week.

Sunday, July 22, 2018

Ballooning levels of personal debt has led to steep rises in the number of people applying for insolvency in Norfolk, in a sign of the mounting financial pressures facing households.

Sunday, July 1, 2018

Broads projects contributing to improving the national park could receive a £2,000 boost in recognition of their work thanks to the Campaign for National Parks’ Park Protector Award.

Wednesday, June 27, 2018

Film director Danny Boyle has hailed Gorleston beach as “one of the great secrets of England.”

Tuesday, June 19, 2018

Four offence notices for fishing illegally on the opening day of a fishing season have been issued.

Local Weather

Partly Cloudy

Partly Cloudy

max temp: 8°C

min temp: 5°C

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

cover

Enjoy the Great
Yarmouth Mercury

e-edition today

Subscribe

Newsletter Sign Up

Great Yarmouth Mercury weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy