Search

Great Yarmouth Charter Academy

Friday, March 1, 2019

A Norfolk high school based at two separate sites will come together in a single location from April.

Wednesday, February 6, 2019

A high school is set expand with a new science block, car park and games area.

Tuesday, February 5, 2019

Residents in Great Yarmouth have leapt to the defence of a 16-year-old who was disciplined by a Norfolk academy because his 'meet me at McDonald's haircut was deemed 'unsuitable'.

Tuesday, February 5, 2019

A notoriously strict Norfolk academy has angered another parent after it disciplined a student for his hair being too short - days after telling him it was too long.

Saturday, February 2, 2019

Mobile phones should be banned from classrooms, with pupils to be lectured about the dangers of device dependency, the schools minister has said.

Tuesday, January 22, 2019

More than 100 defibrillators have been installed across Norfolk and Suffolk thanks to a woman's mission to make the lifesaving piece of equipment accessible to as many people as possible.

Tuesday, January 15, 2019

A Great Yarmouth school site is set to be closed all week due to flooding.

Thursday, December 20, 2018

A Norfolk academy trust has been judged as one of the country's best for disadvantaged pupils.

Saturday, December 15, 2018

Children from schools and academies in Norfolk and Suffolk came together to celebrate the festive season.

Wednesday, November 7, 2018

A Norfolk singer has teamed up with a best selling author to collaborate on a new song.

Thursday, November 1, 2018

A frustrated father has hit out at a controversial academy after his daughter was banned from wearing a knitted poppy in honour of Britain's war dead.

Tuesday, October 30, 2018

Parents and the public have been treated to a first look at designs for the campus revamp at Great Yarmouth Charter Academy.

Sunday, October 28, 2018

A controversial Norfolk principal credited with "transforming" a failing school is to share his experiences in a talk at a prestigious political venue.

Thursday, October 25, 2018

Parents and the public are being asked for their views on a series of building proposals at a Great Yarmouth school.

Monday, October 22, 2018

Two former pupils at a Norfolk academy who secured scholarships to an independent sixth form have inspired pupils at their old school to aim high.

Thursday, October 18, 2018

Parents have accused a school of being "extreme" after a uniform supplier was called in to check girls' skirt lengths.

Saturday, September 29, 2018

An ex-headteacher at Great Yarmouth High School has suggested online abuse of the current principal stems from his attitude to the town.

Friday, September 28, 2018

Parents have falsely accused teachers of taking photos of girls and manhandling pupils, as social media abuse of school staff soars.

Wednesday, September 5, 2018

A Great Yarmouth high school is announcing its completed merger status with new signs above the door and at the main entrances.

Thursday, August 23, 2018

Hundreds of teenagers have received their GCSE results today amid scenes of celebration - and in some cases disappointment.

Monday, August 20, 2018

With numbers flooding in, grades to study and percentages to consider, analysing GCSE results can be confusing. Here, we've picked five things to keep an eye on Thursday, the big day.

Wednesday, August 8, 2018

A Great Yarmouth academy is looking to hold school sports on a public field following a merger deal which means it could have less space.

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Campaigners will find out today if their legal challenge over the merger of two Great Yarmouth high schools will succeed in the High Court.

Friday, July 13, 2018

The MP for Great Yarmouth has said he is "beyond impressed" at what is happening at a school in the town that has been in the headlines.

Thursday, July 5, 2018

A controversial Great Yarmouth academy has seen 81 pupils leave the school roll in the academic year so far, figures show.

Wednesday, June 13, 2018

A dispute over a merger of two high schools in Great Yarmouth is set to be heard in the High Court.

Local Weather

Sunshine and Showers

Sunshine and Showers

max temp: 18°C

min temp: 10°C

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

cover

Enjoy the Great
Yarmouth Mercury

e-edition today

Subscribe

Newsletter Sign Up

Great Yarmouth Mercury weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy