Search

Yarmouth Borough Council

Friday, March 22, 2019

A council has revised plans for a seafront development after its proposals were met with fierce opposition from traders and residents in a seaside town.

Friday, March 22, 2019

A council has decided it will not be spending a penny to help a village refurbish a set of seasonal toilets.

Wednesday, March 20, 2019

A Norfolk council is hoping a Homes Under the Hammer-style approach will help it improve the living conditions of its borough.

Wednesday, March 20, 2019

A vital piece of the jigsaw for the relaunch of Great Yarmouth's Venetian Waterways has been put in place, as its £2.7m revamp nears completion.

Tuesday, March 19, 2019

Concerns have been flagged over a council bid for new homes on a disused section of a special school's former playing field.

A rodent-infested house which has been empty for more than five years in a picturesque Broadside village could be snapped up by a council.

Thursday, March 14, 2019

A luxury American cruise ship will return this summer to Great Yarmouth.

Wednesday, February 27, 2019

Disgruntled traders on Great Yarmouth's market have claimed they face an uncertain future having met with the borough council to discuss proposals for the redevelopment of the market place.

Wednesday, February 27, 2019

Great Yarmouth Borough Council was the target of six cyberattacks last year.

Friday, February 22, 2019

Three councils have been targeted by government for failing to build enough homes in Yarmouth, Waveney, King's Lynn and West Norfolk.

Wednesday, January 9, 2019

Taxi drivers in a Norfolk borough have claimed it is too easy to get a licence after they struggled for business during the festive period.

Thursday, December 20, 2018

Crates of empty beer bottles and piles of black bags are a common sight in most homes during the festive period.

Monday, November 26, 2018

A selective licensing scheme for a deprived ward in Norfolk will begin in the New Year.

Thursday, November 22, 2018

It is one of the Great Yarmouth seafront's most instantly recognisable buildings, with its stature, cast iron structure and glass panels mimicking the look of an ice palace.

Wednesday, November 21, 2018

Visitors to Great Yarmouth will be treated to a smarter welcome following a major revamp of the town's train station forecourt worth £710,000.

Saturday, November 17, 2018

People who have used mechanical diggers to take "significant" amounts of sand and relocate sea defence blocks on Hemsby beach have been ordered to stop.

Tuesday, November 13, 2018

A council insists it will press on with controversial plans to redevelop Great Yarmouth's historic market place - despite a £1.5m bid for government funding failing.

Monday, October 29, 2018

A new plea has been made to find an investor and operator to run the UK's last surviving Victorian seaside cast iron and glass winter gardens.

Friday, October 19, 2018

Taxi users in Great Yarmouth could be paying more for journeys after the first price hike in five years was put forward.

Saturday, October 6, 2018

A borough council may soon be raising the cost of its bulky waste collection service - with the proposed changes doubling prices over the next two years.

Wednesday, September 19, 2018

Great Yarmouth Borough Council is holding its final public exhibition event on Friday, September 21 in Hemsby as part of the initial public consultation to shape a key planning document to help guide and enable sustainable growth, development, jobs and investment until 2030 and beyond.

Friday, September 14, 2018

Great Yarmouth Borough Council has slammed a political party which has called for free parking in Yarmouth.

Wednesday, September 5, 2018

Volunteers are needed for a emergency rest centre training exercise at a Great Yarmouth seafront leisure centre and swimming pool.

Thursday, August 16, 2018

People across Great Yarmouth are being invited to shape a key planning document which is looking at reducing the number of homes needed in the borough.

Monday, August 13, 2018

The first grant of £5,000 to help communities develop affordable homes in the borough of Great Yarmouth has been handed out.

Monday, August 13, 2018

A warning has been issued about a council tax cold call scam in the borough of Great Yarmouth.

Sunday, August 5, 2018

Plans to introduce pre-planning application advice fees across the borough of Great Yarmouth have taken a step forward.

Friday, July 27, 2018

A decision on whether to build 70 new beach huts in Gorleston will be made next week.

Thursday, July 26, 2018

CCTV footage has captured the moment a man brazenly dumped a fridge in an alleyway in Great Yarmouth.

Thursday, July 12, 2018

A major restoration project to breathe new life into the seafront Venetian Waterways in Great Yarmouth will see the whole site closed from Monday, July 23

Local Weather

Partly Cloudy

Partly Cloudy

max temp: 23°C

min temp: 10°C

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

cover

Enjoy the Great
Yarmouth Mercury

e-edition today

Subscribe

Newsletter Sign Up

Great Yarmouth Mercury weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy