Search

Great Yarmouth

Mon, 17:01

A man who is on the run having been handed a jail sentence for being drunk on a flight last year has pleaded his innocence - and insisted he will not hand himself in.

Friday, February 15, 2019

An airline passenger from Great Yarmouth has been jailed for six months for being drunk on board a flight from Bahrain to Heathrow.

Wednesday, February 13, 2019

Two jet-skiers caught “roaring” along the River Waveney and performing “doughnuts” close to a popular riverside pub have been fined hundreds of pounds.

Thursday, January 31, 2019

A judge apologised to the family of a “beautiful young woman” who died after being given drugs when he had to put off sentencing the men who supplied her as they had not been brought to court.

Wednesday, January 2, 2019

A Norfolk couple spent boxing day celebrating their 65th wedding anniversary with those nearest and dearest to them.

Thursday, December 27, 2018

A disqualified motorist who was caught drink-driving on Christmas Day has been banned from getting behind the wheel for four years and ordered to do 300 hours of unpaid work.

Friday, December 14, 2018

A man has sustained injuries and another was arrested following an alleged road rage incident between two lorry drivers.

Wednesday, November 14, 2018

Happy Birthday Prince Charles! Residents in Great Yarmouth wished the Prince of Wales a very happy 70th birthday at a special tea party held at the town hall on Wednesday afternoon.

Sunday, November 4, 2018

With residential developments springing up across the borough, their roads need naming.

Thursday, October 25, 2018

Britain’s ailing high streets have been dealt another blow as Debenhams has announced it will be closing 50 stores across the UK.

Eleanor Pringle talks to Norfolk’s retail experts on what brought the department store chain to its knees, and how it can survive.

Tuesday, October 16, 2018

A teenager who was found with a flick knife shortly after a man was slashed across the neck in Great Yarmouth has been jailed.

Thursday, October 11, 2018

A man was “pounced” on by police after attempting to take a friend to hospital having smoked cannabis and not having a driving licence.

Monday, September 17, 2018

Dozens of people turned out to pay their respects to an “amazing” man who did so much to help others.

Sunday, September 16, 2018

Thousands of people lined the streets to witness a “world exclusive event.”

Tuesday, September 11, 2018

An armed police operation was launched in Great Yarmouth after reports a man was attacked by a robber armed with a samurai sword.

Monday, September 10, 2018

A man has been charged by police with arson and burglary after a Great Yarmouth business was broken into and set on fire.

Friday, September 7, 2018

A teenager has denied a charge of wounding with intent after a stabbing in Great Yarmouth.

Wednesday, September 5, 2018

The names of 16 people from Great Yarmouth and Gorleston who died and whose estates have been left unclaimed have been published.

Wednesday, August 22, 2018

Norfolk County Council’s Museums Service has talks, tours, trails, exhibitions and events to keep everyone in the family entertained.

Monday, August 13, 2018

The uncertainty over the Brexit process has seen the number of people in the constituency of Great Yarmouth who want to stay in the EU increase.

Tuesday, August 7, 2018

Great Yarmouth’s Jason Statham has ruled himself out of the running to be the next 007.

Monday, July 30, 2018

The dangers of children being sold illegal cigarettes and tobacco across Norfolk are to be highlighted in a touring roadshow featuring a sniffer dog who is the bane of unscrupulous traders.

Monday, July 16, 2018

Police have charged a 42-year-old man with arson after a fire at a seafront home in Great Yarmouth at the weekend.

Friday, July 13, 2018

A jealous and controlling woman, who stabbed her ex-partner five times because he took too long doing his Christmas shopping, has been given an extended 18 year sentence.

Monday, July 9, 2018

A vulnerable man was beaten “black and blue” in his Great Yarmouth home and blackmailed into handing over his bank card which was used to withdraw £40, a court heard.

Monday, July 9, 2018

An inquest into the death of a Great Yarmouth man who was hit by a train in Norwich has been fixed after a delay in obtaining a report from the mental health trust.

Thursday, July 5, 2018

A mobile caterer from Great Yarmouth has been named official coffee vendor for the Tour of Britain.

Friday, June 8, 2018

Carl Green has returned to the amateur ranks - and will be forming part of a strong Great Yarmouth and Caister contingent at this weekend’s County Championship.

Saturday, April 28, 2018

A man in his 20s has appeared in court on drugs charges.

Thursday, April 26, 2018

Creditors of Carpetright have approved a rescue deal which will see a quarter of its stores shut – including two in Norfolk.

Local Weather

Partly Cloudy

Partly Cloudy

max temp: 11°C

min temp: 3°C

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

cover

Enjoy the Great
Yarmouth Mercury

e-edition today

Subscribe

Newsletter Sign Up

Great Yarmouth Mercury weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy