Search

Lorne Green

Monday, March 11, 2019

People in Norfolk are being urged to bin their blades as part of a national campaign aimed at cutting knife crime on the streets.

Thursday, March 7, 2019

A young Norfolk man's life-changing experience is being used to shock youngsters into being safer on the roads.

Tuesday, February 5, 2019

People will today learn just how much of their money they will be asked to hand over to pay for Norfolk's police force over the next 12 months.

Sunday, January 27, 2019

A further 40 drivers were clocked speeding in the latest crackdown by Norfolk police, including one who overtook a constabulary motorcycle at 116mph.

Tuesday, January 22, 2019

A centre for survivors of sexual abuse has opened in Great Yarmouth.

Tuesday, January 15, 2019

The police and crime commissioner for Norfolk is set to visit two more towns as part of a consultation to discover how much residents of the county are willing to contribute through council tax to help fund the police service.

Monday, January 14, 2019

More than 100 vehicles were spotted speeding in a 40mph limit on the A47 at Gorleston.

Wednesday, January 9, 2019

The police and crime commissioner looks poised to take a seat on the board tasked with scrutinising the county's fire service - after opting against taking on responsibility for it.

Wednesday, January 2, 2019

Norfolk's police chief has said freezing council tax next year would "inevitably" lead to fewer police officers.

Friday, December 14, 2018

Norfolk's police chief has said he will make a case for more police officers on the street, but it would mean a rise in council tax.

Wednesday, November 14, 2018

Norfolk's police commissioner is concerned that only 5pc of people report being the victim of a scam.

Friday, November 9, 2018

"If people come at you with a knife and you haven't got one you're stuffed" - that is the stark message from a youth whose friend was stabbed in the chest in a street fight.

Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Norfolk's police and crime commissioner has announced that he will not be seeking re-election when his term ends in 2020.

Thursday, October 25, 2018

Norfolk police could be in danger of hitting "an historic low" in officer numbers, if the government goes through with plans to change the way police pensions are paid.

Thursday, September 13, 2018

Norfolk's emergency services chiefs have welcomed a new law which will double the maximum sentence for anyone convicted of assaulting an emergency service worker to twelve months.

Monday, September 10, 2018

Norfolk's chief constable has admitted the county's rate of solving domestic abuse and rape crimes do not make good reading - with just one in 16 of the latter solved.

Monday, September 10, 2018

A number of responses to the consultation into the future governance of the fire service could be redacted, as their content is likely to be libellous.

Thursday, August 23, 2018

As a public consultation into the future governance of Norfolk's fire service enters its final two weeks, the public have been urged to give their feedback.

Friday, August 17, 2018

Norfolk County Council leader Andrew Proctor discussed a range of key subjects in an interview with BBC Norfolk. Here is what he had to say:

Monday, August 6, 2018

A week-long crackdown on speeding drivers in Norfolk starts today as part of a Europe-wide campaign.

Friday, August 3, 2018

The chairman of a firefighter's union has made a fresh plea for the police and crime commissioner to leave the service in the hands of the county council.

Friday, July 13, 2018

A charity-run centre has been hailed a "lifeline" service by Norfolk's Police and Crime Commissioner.

Tuesday, June 19, 2018

Norfolk's police and crime commissioner (PCC) is poised to decide whether to press forward with a possible takeover of the management of the county's fire and rescue service.

Local Weather

Partly Cloudy

Partly Cloudy

max temp: 22°C

min temp: 10°C

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

cover

Enjoy the Great
Yarmouth Mercury

e-edition today

Subscribe

Newsletter Sign Up

Great Yarmouth Mercury weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy