Search

The Week In Numbers with Peter Sharkey

Yesterday, 16:32

Around 85,000 people released equity from their homes last year, says finance expert Peter Sharkey. Could doing the same help you to increase your retirement fund?

Friday, May 29, 2020

Your property wealth could save you from working for an additional three years, says finance expert Peter Sharkey.

Friday, May 22, 2020

As house prices tumble, first time buyers have a chance to get on the property ladder, says finance expert Peter Sharkey.

Friday, May 15, 2020

The coronavirus outbreak is expected to force UK finances into a troubling position – but homeowners could be helped through equity release, says finance expert Peter Sharkey.

Monday, May 11, 2020

There are many advantages to holding cash during periods of volatility, says finance expert Peter Sharkey.

Friday, May 1, 2020

The recent virus crisis has the highlighted pivotal role played by care homes – but paying for them will remain a struggle for millions, says Peter Sharkey.

Friday, April 24, 2020

Author Haruki Murakami suggests dozens of topics to consider while exercising. Finance is one, says Peter Sharkey.

Friday, April 17, 2020

Instead of reacting negatively to the coronavirus outbreak, bold investors should look at the sectors likely to do well once the virus has been tamed, says Peter Sharkey.

Tuesday, April 14, 2020

Steinbeck’s classic, Grapes of Wrath, is set in an era we shall never see again, says Peter Sharkey.

Friday, April 3, 2020

One of the world’s largest hospitals – built in just a fortnight – is one reason to be optimistic, says financial expert Peter Sharkey.

Friday, March 27, 2020

No-one has any idea how long the nation will be in semi- or even permanent lockdown, so eliminating unnecessary outgoings will provide a welcome boost, says financial expert Peter Sharkey.

Monday, March 23, 2020

Investors chasing high yields should proceed with caution, says Peter Sharkey.

Monday, March 16, 2020

Financial expert Peter Sharkey on why you should think carefully before pressing the ‘sell’ button...

Friday, March 6, 2020

Financial expert Peter Sharkey asks if coronavirus is a genuine threat or an example of mass panic?

Friday, February 28, 2020

The new, multi-tasking Chancellor has to work out what to do with the current ISA allowance, says financial columnist Peter Sharkey.

Friday, February 21, 2020

As is the case with flooding, action needs to be taken on pensions to avoid a national catastrophe, says finance expert Peter Sharkey.

Friday, February 14, 2020

The ‘Railway Mania’ of the 1840s is a timely reminder of a period when share prices rose too fast before collapsing, says financial expert Peter Sharkey

Friday, February 7, 2020

In less than 40 years, average life expectancy will be 100. How do we – and our pensions – handle that? asks Peter Sharkey.

Friday, January 31, 2020

Been on a health kick? Peter Sharkey says if January is the time for your body, February is all about your cash...

Friday, January 24, 2020

‘Patience is bitter, but its fruit is sweet,’ said Jean Jacques Rousseau – a quote worth remembering, says financial expert Peter Sharkey

Friday, January 17, 2020

Becoming an expat could help you to boost your savings, says financial expert Peter Sharkey.

Friday, January 10, 2020

Last year, consumers spent an extra £14 million a month buying Greggs’ products, says Peter Sharkey, suggesting that owning a slice of the bakery brand could become a sound investment.

Friday, January 3, 2020

Saving upwards of £700 is actually quite easy, says financial columnist Peter Sharkey.

Monday, December 30, 2019

Equity release makes combining holidays with an enhanced pension possible, says financial expert Peter Sharkey.

Friday, December 20, 2019

The festuve season is one for reflection, says financial expert Peter Sharkey.

Monday, December 16, 2019

People prepared to risk some, not all, of their money could enjoy significantly better returns, says financial expert Peter Sharkey.

Tuesday, December 10, 2019

Financial columnist Peter Sharkey takes a trip down memory lane and discovers how things have changed – both at the banks and on the football pitch.

Monday, December 2, 2019

Whether it be classic cars, art, stamps or wine, alternative investments are a potential minefield says financial columnist Peter Sharkey.

Friday, November 22, 2019

It was cool when Kojak carried his coffee in 1970s New York but times change, says Peter Sharkey, and ditching the habit could help you to save.

Friday, November 15, 2019

Financial columnist Peter Sharkey explains why saving is a much better option than the slim chance of joining the lottery jackpot winners.

Digital Edition

cover

Enjoy the Great
Yarmouth Mercury

e-edition today

Subscribe