History of Great Yarmouth Drill Hall to be subject of talk
PUBLISHED: 12:08 07 March 2018 | UPDATED: 12:08 07 March 2018
SeaChange Arts are hosting a talk on the history of the old York Road Drill Hall this Saturday.
SeaChange’s circus and street arts centre, now called The Drill House, was a military Drill Hall and base for the 2nd Volunteer Battalion Norfolk Regiment.
It was built in 1867.
As part of a Heritage Lottery funded project, Drill House 150, SeaChange have been investigating the history of the building and its various military and community roles.
Local historian Roger Silver will present some of the building’s history, looking at the local families that funded it, the volunteer regiment based there and details of its construction.
Over the years, it has housed concerts, marching bands and was a community sports hall before SeaChange acquired the building in 2012.
Visitors can also relay some of their memories of using the building for an oral history project. The talk is free and begins at noon.